Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Armageddungeon

by Diel Mormac - Compo Entry

A game created in 48h by @DielMormac for the Ludum Dare 34

Made with Game Maker Studio Pro

**Click in the images to see it animated!**

---------------------

Z = Jump

X = Shot

Alt + Enter = Toggle Full Screen

Esc = Close the game

---------------------

About the Game:
The original idea was to create a NPC merchant where you can buy new weapons and supplies, but unfortunately i didn't had time :(

There's some features I didn't finished in time:
-NPC Merchant (Change your gold for weapons, ammunition, health and extra life);
-NPC Death (Change your souls for new outfits and characters);
-Light, Mist and ScreenShake effects;
-Save score;
-Game Over Screen;

I am currently working in a post compo version with all this features, so stay tuned!

Twitter: @DielMormac

About me:
-My name is Marcos Marcon a.k.a. Diel Mormac;
-I'm a 24 years brazilian, graduated in Game Development Since June 2014
-It's my first Compo (Not Really*) entry and I'm very happy! :D
-I have made de code for "Dagobert" - (JellyHard) at Ludum Dare 32 (JAM)

*I tryed to participate in the last compo at LD33 but due to personal troubles I had to abort the mission in the first day :(

I'm a programmer/game designer and I have been studying pixel art since last Ludum Dare to participate at this one!

I'm very happy with my evolution!
And what you think about it?
Please, tell me rating my game!

Thanks for playing!

Kind Regards,
Diel Mormac

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#63Graphics4.16
#129Audio3.54
#158Mood3.51
#218Overall3.59
#249Fun3.48
#397Humor2.54
#455Theme3.77
#598Innovation2.96

Comments

Jstank says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:23am

The sprite work here is excellent, well thought out well executed tight controls. There is a lot to love here!

intXparts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Excellent work, this is a nice solid game! There's a lot going on mechanics-wise in the game on top of nice artwork and sounds.

laFunk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Highscore: 535. I see a lot of potential here! The gameplay could use some tweating (I didn't like the jumping arc) but it's a great game! Nice work

Diel Mormac says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:42pm

First I want to thank all you guys for your comments, they are very important to me!

@laFunk
The original idea was to create a NPC merchant where you can buy new weapons and supplies, but unfortunately i didn't had time :(

@All
I am currently working in a post compo version with all this features, so stay tuned!

Peekotus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:28am

Art is amazing

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:40am

Proper oldskool, I love it. :D Even though I'm on Mac, it runs perfectly with WINE.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:45am

I'm blown away here. You pulled a lot of nice detail out of such small sprites, and I think the color choices were excellent. I don't know where you were at last LD to compare, but where you are at now is pretty damn good.

That music track was bumping, too. I kinda want it in my playlist.

Critique wise I'd like to see the jumping touched up. In particular the two bottom spots were really hard to hit when jumping from the middle section. Either raise the platforms or flatten the jump arc?

Regardless I t think there's a lot of potential here and this is one of my favorite little games so far.

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:57am

A lot of potential, excellent graphics and decent audio work. There appears to be some input lag for the shooting though.

dvdfu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:40am

Nice spriting/music! Unfortunately, I found it very difficult to get past the first level, but it's a neat way to do a platformer-shooter with 2 buttons!

PixlWalkr says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:12pm

I like the way that it is fast paced and the music also supports it. nice pixel art also.

Diel Mormac says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:45am

Hello guys, thanks for all your comments!

@deadpixelsociety Special thanks!

Drury says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:19am

The aesthetics reminded me a lot of Cave Story, but the pumping soundtrack made it special.

No really, am I the only one seeing an armed Mimiga in the main character?

Rodaja says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Cool game! Nice pixel art, and I like the game idea. It's too hard for me, but overall seems nice. Good job!

antonuklein says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Huge potential for a full title, excellent graphics, excellent music, excellent polish, although personally controls didn't feel responsive (although they were well executed) and it was easy to lose the playable character.

Carnivoris says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Everything about this is fantastic! Impressive visuals and audio. Simple but unfamiliar/intriguing controls, too.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Really nice colour work on this one!
The jump was a little hard to get right but can see some serious potential!
Great job

Ivan Volkov says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:40pm

The graphics are great! I really liked your visual style!
But! Why monsters have healthbars, if they are dying from one hit? :)
Also why there are no highscore button and what is the money/kills give you?
In summary, I really liked it, but I don't really understand what was happening during the game.
Also the idea is pretty good :)

pkenney says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:43pm

The sprite art for this game is awesome! I think that it makes a small mistake by having the main character not visually pop more though. The character often disappears from one place and appears someplace else on the screen so in the first few minutes of play it was super-easy to lose track. I think more contrast making the main character visually unique would have been a big help.

But the art really looked awesome!

Gameplay wise I had fun but I did feel like the level didn't set me up to have a ton of options about jumps. Is it even possible to make the jump at the very bottom? I always hit my head and fell in when I tried, every time. The game was also pretty tough about being over the edge... none of that forgiveness about being a bit over the edge that many platformers include these days.

Because I couldn't make all the jumps I felt like I had a bit less agency. The game looked and sounded great, and felt pretty good. But in the end my most successful strategy devolved into very rarely using the jump key, and just constantly mashing the shoot button... which meant I was rarely making decisions. But that strategy was safer because I learned the loops my character would repeat, so I knew where to expect her, and the shooting would clean up most enemies if I just nonstop mashed it. Then I only jumped to avoid the occasional incoming collision, or sometimes to just mix up the action or go for a pickup.

So I think this is a clever idea about how to use the two buttons, that looks and sounds fantastic, but ended up not really capitalizing on the potential of the good ideas and dev skills.

Still, a solid around-entry, just a shame to see the potential not quite click for me as a player.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Excellent game but it needs some effects and adjustments. The gameplay feels a bit odd because I don't have much control over the player, maybe he is too fast and jump too high with low distance.
But overall great job! Hail fellow brazilian developer! :D

Zyow says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Nice sound and graphics, this is really good! I think the player sprite need a another color, it's really hard to see with a lot of monsters.

elizeu says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:33am

Nice pixel art, good sound, two buttons control are ok!
Missed only be able to change direction, perhaps pressing both buttons together :)
Consistent overall.
Good work.

johnnwfs says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 3:56am

Good job - the graphics were nice and the gameplay was difficult but learnable. Probably would be more fun in a future version to have more than 2 buttons :-) Awesome work for the theme, though.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Art, sound and concept are awesome! Controls-wise, jumping over gaps was near impossible when the jump would hit the ceiling (basically, on the bottom). It wasn't too punishing as you'd reappear on the top of the screen instead of dying as in other games (this was a clever detail), but it didn't feel right. I'll be waiting for the post-compo version to see what you can do there, everything else is really solid. Good job!

dregamr says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:28am

It's hard, but I liked it! :)

Bacontree says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:36pm

Great interpretation of the theme, solid gameplay, and really cool pixel graphics. Good job!

crucknuk says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:52pm

Excellent entry! I first believed it was a jam until I saw that it was a compo! It is nervous, addictive and polished! Well done ;)

Nega Drive says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:32pm

Cool game! Nice pixel art, good use of the theme, great music too. More responsive controls are needed though, I feel like sometimes I didn't jump when I wanted to. Nice work overall though!

Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:45pm

Cool Game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]