Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Moo.F.O.

by Maxr00 - Compo Entry

--Edit: A last minute fix made the game feel very heavy and unpleasant, but I did a quick fix! The game should feel much better now!

Control a spaceship and bring some cows back to the Mother Ship!

MooFO includes 4 levels, 4 songs, and plenty of cows.
I used the Two Button theme, so this game can be played entirely with your mouse.

Controls:
Left Click: Activate Thrust
Right Click: Activate Beam
The ship will always turn to point towards the mouse.

Find all the cows and, using your ship's beam, bring them back to Mother Ship's beam.

Development Timelapse:
https://youtu.be/QskW1omJ4Oc

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#72Humor3.61
#271Audio3.10
#284Mood3.27
#451Innovation3.20
#451Overall3.27
#460Graphics3.13
#477Fun3.16
#692Theme3.44

Comments

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:46am

Nice game. like a south park episode with the cow art.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:47am

You know.. after playing so much Kerbal Space Program, you'd think I'd be better at flying rockets :P

Well done! Cute and made me laugh, and solid use of the controls!

MestreRothWP says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:49am

Slow controls. The gameplay could be more complex with better controls.
Nice graphics and idea.

FireSlash says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:50am

It's just the right amount of frustrating to control, where I can do fine if I'm careful, but I feel like I want to take shortcuts and go faster.

Nice balance.

mf1214 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:50am

Funny game. Cool concept too.

snowshovelboy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:51am

I never got past level 2. It felt like there was too much gravity.

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:59am

Interesting concept and fun gameplay. If the gravity were just a little weaker, then it would feel like a good amount of frustration for me. I like the music a lot.

Kortuga says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:00am

Yes! hammer-throwing cows into tractor beams! Yes!

mactinite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:06am

I especially like flinging the cows towards the mothership. The ship felt really heavy and hard to keep up but I guess that's the point! Nice job!

aplomb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:06am

Surprisingly challenging! I need more coordination to play this...

Saymon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:08am

Great game, thanks.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:10am

Great game. The controls are just right and the art looks really nice. The only problems are that the cows can collide with the ship when they're being sucked into the mother ship and mess up the controls and that the ship seems awfully sluggish in the second level.

ORECROS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:11am

The song was catchy. The controls were a tad slippery, and i found flinging cows with the laser to be more fun than just putting them into the tractor beam. If the game was, for instance, about using the tractor beam to knock houses down by throwing cows at them, that would be more fun

Ybalrid says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:15am

I like it! and +1 for the graphics (they are cute). The theme is fun too!

scriptorum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:17am

Very nice, Lunar Lander, with cownapping. Controls were a little tricky I kept spinning out the vehicle by not paying attention to the mouse cursor - I'd prefer if it acted more like a joystick. Couldn't get through second level, the craft and the bovine got heavy, and thrust was incredibly slow. Fun to fling cows when you get the hang of it.

PanDoes says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:26am

felt repetitive and that the tractor beam could've been a toggle. game was fun to play though.

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:48am

Pretty nice game, and very fun to play, though it lags quite a bit on my computer. I'm not sure if that's on the part of your game or my computer TBH.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:46am

Great sound and graphcis. I also liked the controls. I was able to create a lot of absurd cow throwing here!

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:40am

Controls was a bit difficult. Other than that some good fun to be had :)

mackthehobbit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Funny, adorable game. Fantastic controls, nice sleepy music... great mood.

TheSteveIAm says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Nice idea, controls feel a bit finicky every once in a while

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:15am

So funny! And very fun to toy with the mechanics as well. Definitely a very cool entry!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:36am

This reminds me of an old spaceship game where you had to lift things or land. Neat, and I'm glad this doesn't have a fuel gauge.

Unfortunately it's very hard and slow for me. I almost got to the end of the second level, but it took a very long time, and then one wrong move instantly restarted the whole level -- I would have had to collect all the cows again. :(

5 cows per level might be more fun in my opinion.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:51pm

cute and challenging game, cool concept, well done

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]