Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Recnac

by thedashdude - Compo Entry

A platform game with both growing mechanics and two button controls. Esc to go the menu, r to restart, arrow keys to move. Had to post in a rush because of plans, let me know if anything is broken.

To beat the boss you have to change size by collecting the power ups he shoots and climb up the left wall.

I have added an updated version, with three buttons (up to jump) and 0 on the numpad to skip a level. This isn't the version to be judged, but is more fun if you want it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#131Innovation3.76
#184Theme4.07
#267Fun3.45
#300Overall3.47
#520Audio2.57
#549Humor2.23
#565Mood2.85
#574Graphics2.93

Comments

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:19pm

This is awesome! :D Great job! I really love the ideas you had for it!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:50am

This was great! Reminds me a lot of classic puzzle games. I enjoyed it a lot!

Funske says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:50am

I like the concept it was original and creative. Jumping was very difficult and made it less fun because you had to jump and then repress the key. But it was still a fun game non the less. Good job!

thedashdude says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:13am

@Funske The jumping is a little weird, and I planned to have an option for a jump button, but was short on time. Some time soon I'll upload it. Glad you liked it.

adamk33n3r says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:58am

Way too hard for my liking. The lack of momentum made jumps very hard to judge.

jim3wg says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:09am

Nice Idea !

Big Cow says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Nice combo of puzzle platformer with a kind of Osmos/Agar.io dynamics to dissolve things smaller than you very innovative. Well done!

Taldius says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:39am

Great gameplay Idea, but the sound gave me headache and the last jump on level 2 is really hard to do ^^

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:06am

This is a great concept for a game. I have to say though that whilst I appreciate you fitting in both themes, the game's platforming controls are really being let down by only using two buttons. I think that when you concentrated on puzzling level design rather than a lot of precise jumps the game was at its best because of this. In addition a little bit more visual signals to say what is dangerous and what is safe would have been helpful.

Overall I really like the concept and most of the level design. I'd love to see this taken further.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:50pm

What a twist! Clever title and level design!

My only complaint is that using two buttons to jump, rather than a dedicated jump button, was clunky and frustrating. It felt like the two button jump was added *for* the theme, rather than making use of the theme.

Nevertheless, I had fun and especially liked the "boss" at the end (the change in music was a nice touch too).

Wevel says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Great game, nice levels and mechanics, is a bit difficult due to jumping requiring both directions to be pressed

Xanjos says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:31pm

The two button limitation was more of a hindrance as sometimes it's impossible to jump to the right place at times plus this was a pretty solid puzzle platformer with some well thought out level designs.

Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:31pm

Rather challenging but a very clever concept! I had fun with this game, nice little timewaster! Well done! :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]