Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Nedrag

by Indiestry - Jam Entry

You are meant to grow to save the heroes.

Music credits:

"Past the Edge" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 License
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#110Mood(Jam)3.84
#167Theme(Jam)4.08
#195Graphics(Jam)4.04
#362Overall(Jam)3.48
#476Innovation(Jam)3.20
#547Fun(Jam)3.12
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

anael says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:45pm

very poetic

jomomomo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Can't play windows games. :-(

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:04pm

nice little art project

Dooskington says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Fun little game! Found it a bit too easy, though.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:05pm

One of the best entries I've played today. Artistic, poetic. The graphics, despite being pixely, were beautiful; the music helped create an amazing mood. Very well done!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:05pm

the music and art were beautiful. loved the patterns you make in combination with those pink flowers and falling snow. only thing I was unsure about was how the wasps worked? regardless, great job!

Zintex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Very good pixel art, interesting idea

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:29pm

The art is very beautiful, music too. This is poetic and I like it! nice work!

CremaGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:42am

Great mood, great graphics and very good pixel art. Love it. Congrats!

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:53am

Relaxing little game. The plant looks very beautiful. I don't know what the wasps were for, they mostly just dropped to the ground.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Nice art!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Absolutely beautiful! Great mood. I didn't see the wasps anywhere but who gives a damn that was so pretty. Plus you managed to fit both themes in without it seemed hammy.

I mean as far as mechanics there werent many but that's okay-- not every game has to have jumping and shooting. Just goes to show sometimes its better to focus on perfecting one mechanic in your 72 hours rather than trying to cram a bunch of half finished ones into one game.

Blobo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Really cool. i love the visuals.

bwatanabe says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:20am

Meditative, calming, and beautiful

Geckoo1337 says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 6:09am

The aesthetic is very beautiful and music too. This is poetic experience and I like it. Well done ++

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]