Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sproutsong

by ehgoodenough - Jam Entry

A harvest-moon-like game where you grow your garden of magical plants to sell at the market!

Use the arrow keys to move, and the space bar to interact with stuff in the world. You start with ten gold, which is enough to buy you some seeds at the market. Just talk to the lady standing in front of the shop! :D

Developed in collaboration with @madameberry and @mcfunkypants. You guys are the best! #jamsandwich

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#164Audio(Jam)3.67
#231Mood(Jam)3.59
#284Theme(Jam)3.93
#325Overall(Jam)3.52
#423Graphics(Jam)3.63
#487Fun(Jam)3.19
#730Innovation(Jam)2.81

Comments

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Very good! :) Nice presentation and effects design!

ruerob says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:38am

Really nice little harvest moon like game! I really like how the lullaby flower sings.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:56am

Everything fits together, audio and visual wise, which is really nice. I wish there was a goal to reach for, though.

tazdij says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:01am

I like it :)

ORECROS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:04am

nice and feelgood

Wandermayer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:07am

I like the mix of annuals and perrenials, it adds a interesting strategy to your garden planning

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:19am

Interesting harvest moon theme, really neat and cool artwork :)

jdoughty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:08am

Loved the presentation and the sound! Game felt solid and I really could feel the harvest moon inspiration. Congrats, you distilled the game I wasted 2 months of my life on into a 5 min jam game. Love it!

MorseAmalgam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:33am

Simple and fun - with more development it could be neat to see what kinds of dynamics you could get going with it. The audio was decent, but the music felt like it set a rather ominous tone that didn't fit the feel of the rest of the game.

PrismaSlice says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:41am

Really enjoyed this one! There is enough depth to keep you busy wanting to explore the various plants. Audio and pixel art are lovely as well!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:24am

Nice. It feels like there should be more to do, but I like the variety in the flowers that are present.
Playing in the embedded player doesn't work well with the space bar?

MSiddeek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Take all my 5 stars! Awesome game!!! :)

Sink says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:00am

this was relaxing and nice i enjoyed it!

local minimum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:14pm

I downloaded the windows-version but when I click on the magic-garden executable all that happens is a Chromium window that says "NW.JS". I couldn't get the web-version running either.

Jesse Freeman says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Really love this take on Harvest Moon. Took me a few mins to figured out what I was supposed to do but once I got it it was fun. Great job!

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:36am

That was a fun game! I loved the style of it. My favorite part was the variety of plants! I thought they were interesting in that they had different attributes. I especially liked the plants that would rot quickly, and the singing plant (which was adorable!) The music sounded a little ominous to me. I think this can really be expanded upon! Even without some kind of overall goal I was having fun buying and planting the plants and watching them grow! I also liked the magic twist on it and liked playing as a witch. Awesome stuff! :)

lawendt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Old mechanics but simple graphics, loved the singing plant. Didn't understand why would I use the one that costs 50$. Anyway, keep up with the good work!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:54am

this was a very good game - well balanced and LOTS of fun - nice work

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]