Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Reach

by huminaboz - Jam Entry

You’re jumping on a trampoline and trying to go higher. 100,000 height wins.

Grow or shrink your weight to escape from the trampoline pit by collecting weights or floats.
Sort of like a reverse Ridiculous Fishing mixed with that trampoline mini-game in Kirby.
Gameplay Video: https://youtu.be/2LeVcmlYNhE

Controls:
* HOLD spacebar to increase weight. Release to decrease weight. Pressing it or letting go will clear the mass you've collected.
* A & D to move left and right.
* Even more fun on a controller.

Tips:
* You want to hold down Spacebar on the way down and let go right before the trampoline tries to send you upwards. Then you want to hold spacebar again as you start to fall.
* A little bit of timing goes a long way. Try to get rid of your weight before the trampoline lets go.
* The faster you're going, the better it is to focus on avoiding the wrong item.
* Can be beaten in about 7 jumps

Credits:
Art, Design, Programming: Boz
Music: Matt, Justin, and special guest dog Otto

**The Unity WebGL export is still a little buggy, if it's not working, reload and try again**

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#143Audio(Jam)3.74
#254Innovation(Jam)3.50
#343Graphics(Jam)3.75
#426Mood(Jam)3.32
#508Overall(Jam)3.33
#701Fun(Jam)2.92
#892Theme(Jam)3.11

Comments

Hjalte500 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:57am

The art is a bit inconsistent with the highres pick ups and solid color poly everything else but other than that I liked it. Its different from other games that look like it so that was nice to see. Pretty good.

ajopart says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:13am

Great entry. Congratulations. I needed some time to understand the gameplay but once understood, it was really nice ! One of my favorite !

huminaboz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:17am

That's a great point Hjalte500, thank you!

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:17am

Very pretty game! :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:20am

I'm really bad at this, i don't quite understand how i gain height xD So i'm glad there is a video that shows the gameplay off a bit better.

Really enjoying the graphics!

micky says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:26am

interesting concept :) , took me a while to work it out, serves me right for not reading the instructions :P, love the music :)

dlowe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:26am

Got to 3626!

The controls and goal were pretty unintuitive at first, but once I got the hang of it, it was neat and fun for a few minutes. Not clear if there was any kind of goal or advancement? Anyway, fun -- thanks for the game!

flukeshot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:33am

A very unique game-play mechanic, watching the youtube video did help me a bit actually.

mattlevonian says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:01am

Wow, the controls were tuned perfectly, everything felt great. As other people are saying, it took a while to figure out what to do (I think boiling it down to "get blue things while going up, get red things while going down" would have helped). I think the art assets all fit together really well, the high-res, abstract, sparse look is pulled off fantastically. It didn't really feel like it totally fit into the theme of the Jam, though.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:29am

very well made and super fun~! loved the game mechanics, although I can't tell if it's going lighter or heavier. but it's still great! well done!

MorseAmalgam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:32pm

I think the thing that was disorienting for me was the sudden, immediate turnaround when you reached the bottom of your jump. I kept expecting the trampoline to start giving resistance and eventually slow to zero before the tension finally launched me back up.

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:40am

Feels really good to play to me, it was good fun too!

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:46am

Interesting concept. Took me quite a while to figure out what to do exactly.

Sink says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:10am

this was cool it took a while for me to get used to it but it was neato nice work

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:35am

I really like the art :) simple, but effective

Crysalim says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:49am

Very fun concept! It's surprisingly polished, and proper gain of weight/lightness between jumps can win quickly.

Headmade says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:55am

I had trouble figuring out how the game works but after reading your instructions (and tips) in your post I eventually got it. A better explanation or preferably input feedback in game would have helped a lot. For example you could shape the player object like an arrow and point it down when space is pressed and up when space is released.

Polith Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Very interesting game. Fantastic art, similar to the most popular games for mobile platforms (which is great for the player). Good job!

akirassasin says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:47am

I think that if you made the trampoline bow up and down instead of following the player's height it would be more understandable :P I spent 3 minutes playing thinking that the blue line was the score.

huminaboz says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:58am

@akirassasin Haha, I hear ya. Here's a tweet from day1: https://twitter.com/huminaboz/status/675582430393139200

LeReveur says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:20am

Not so easy to understand why I manage to go where I want and why I don't. But this hypnotic music prevented me to rage against this strange physics behavior. And I reached only 27000+, far below the target score, but it's fine, it was fun trying to.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:27am

Pretty fun entry. Although it takes a while to master completely, I really like the gameplay mechanics.

guoboism says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:05am

Great! Pretty work!

525 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:12am

good work!
I like the graphics~

SiENcE says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:32pm

Very stunning entry. Had a lot of fun with the game mechanic! Can't away this as mobile ;).

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]