Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Flappy Invaders

by Miziziziz - Compo Entry

The most obvious theme interpretation. Try and beat the boss.
It takes approx. two minutes to reach the boss. Post compo version is shorter and only takes one minute.
Space to Jump
Right Ctrl to shoot

alternatively lmb and rmb to shoot and jump

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#418Graphics3.21
#560Audio2.47
#571Mood2.83
#599Theme3.58
#726Fun2.79
#791Overall2.84
#888Innovation2.26
#1857Coolness36%

Comments

intXparts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Awesome game! I liked the artwork so much I constantly died trying to get a better look at it, not paying attention to where the character was.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Nice flappy clone with its own style. Died trying to coordinate flapping and shooting :D Cool sprites :D

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:40pm

I should have known a game with the word flappy in it would be this type of game! Nicely done, though like the awful original I don't get very far.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:16pm

This is game is totally ruthless! :) I mean, Flappy Bird is known for being ruthless, so taking that and adding another layer of complexity to it just makes it insane! I played for about 20 minutes and I don't think I even got close to the boss...! The graphics are super nice, I like that there's no music, and the sound effects really work. Perfect game for two buttons. And I think there's no such thing as an "obvious" interpretation of the theme :)

I recorded while I played and commented a lot more while playing. It's currently being uploaded here: https://youtu.be/MtaFbiY_a8g

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Ha ha Miziziziz, I'm really bad at this type of game.

Nice pixel-art and working game-play.

VascoF says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:29pm

I made it to the boss and died. It takes quite a while to get there, if it were half that time I would have tried again. Anyway, nice "Flappy" variant, really liked having a boss at the end.

Logicon says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:18am

I like the robot duck, but do you have him in plaid?

(The plaid stands for... well, you know!}

;)

;)

:|

dx0ne says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Not a fan of flappy games but shooting addition made me play it longest of all flappy games.

Eingya says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:40am

Simple but smart idea!

Would probably work a bit better by losing the walls and basing it more on shoting stuff.

Still, good work!

gelisam says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 3:50am

I could not play the game on OS X, the game exits immediately with no error message.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]