Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Over Grown

by The Pelranthean - Compo Entry

Over Grow your opponent. Play as Grass while you collect Growth points and slowly take over the map.

For players: I forgot to mention how you move around in the tutorial. Basically, you always move towards your mouse (indicated by a target).

For AI connoisseurs: I apologize. It isn't smart at all. Maybe I can come back to this at some point and make the AI a bit more... ferocious.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2115Coolness24%

Comments

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:42am

Pro:
+ Interesting concept, can get really strategic
+ It's fun to overflow the area with grass!
Con:
- Way too easy to expand, should be better balanced. But again, the counterpart isn't smart, so maybe it's not an issue
Obs:
o At first I was really confused, but then I understood the rules.. Maybe better UI or simpler instructions?

Great game!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:56am

Really neat concept, However, I would make the weed and grass sprites look more different.

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:56am

I liked the core concept of the gameplay most when playing this game. Nice job!

ProgramGamer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:59am

Took me a second to get that you need to point in the direction that you want to move towards, but other than that is was fun. Only gripe is with the fact that the enemy AI is kind of dumb, but then again it's hard to make good AI in two days. Good job!

jigalx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:59am

Cool idea! A bit easy, button mashing seems to be all you need.

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:07am

Really interesting concept!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:07am

Not interesting to expand, I mean that there is no motivation for get a high score in the game

Andarilhoz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:07am

Didnt understand the rules too, but i liked the gameplay, just the cursor (the black square that you command) are a little dumb sometimes, and the enemy too

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:02am

It was confusing in the beginning, but became fun once I got the hang of it.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Really interesting gameplay. If you can tune the AI as you said you might, this game will be even better.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]