Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Don't Burst The Blob

by seurimas - Compo Entry

Don't Burst The Blob!

Controls:
* Space: Grow/Fall. Increase your weight while falling and let go when bouncing to get higher!
* Enter: Burst forward.

Started out as an actiony game, ended up in the spirit of Flappy Bird.

WILL NOT WORK IN FIREFOX DUE TO A BUG IN LIBGDX: https://github.com/libgdx/libgdx/issues/2640

Available as a runnable jar via the itch.io page (Web/Desktop links).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#134Humor3.30
#278Fun3.43
#300Audio3.04
#393Innovation3.29
#393Mood3.08
#439Overall3.29
#484Theme3.73
#617Graphics2.86

Comments

srakowski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:33am

Ha! This isn't at all addicting (sarcasm). The mechanics took a bit to figure out at first but once I got them down it was great. Very challenging. Well done.

kuhnerdm says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:45am

Took me a bit to realize that I was actually controlling the blob in the start menu and I didn't have to CLICK the "start" text. Other than that, fantastic game!

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:10am

I'm in Safari, and I think the player is going slow. Is it bugged in this too?

seurimas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:14am

I'm not able to test in Safari, unfortunately. I know Chrome works well, and there's a jar available for download on the itch.io page as well.

MCRewind says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:40am

Hmm.. Cant get controls to work :/

madcoil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:24am

Addicting! And cool mechanics with lots of room for getting better at it.

seurimas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:22pm

If controls don't work, you may need to mash whatever that refresh button in the corner is a few times. Click that, then click the game and it'll work.

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:42am

Very addicting, very challenging. Had a lot of fun with this. great use of the theme and fun game

kostak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:52am

I can use controls - push enter and space, but no effect.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:29am

Awesome job, spot on with both themes! Took me a few to figure out how to bounce higher to start but then it was all second nature!

ac7 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:31am

I really like this concept! The game is pretty fun to play, but I kept getting stuck at the area where the blocks are moving.

By the way, heavy objects fall with the same acceleration as light objects :)

Technical note: the embedded game does not accept my keyboard input (Ubuntu + Chrome). I had to click on the Web link to play.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:34am

Awesome work. Control mechanics feel really good. I love the start menu, all the modes seem pretty much the same to me though. I like the graphical look, the blob looks great and the effects when he dies are nice. The spikes could stand out more, they kind of blend in with everything. Nice variation to levels with moving blocks and gravity reversals. Music and effects work well, reminds me like an old school dos game.

seurimas says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:35am

Thanks, ac7. And yeah, I know. But that didn't fit the theme, so I ignored it :P

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:55am

Strangely addictive. Every time I thought I was getting the hang out it, your game proved me wrong. I might kill myself if I don't close it now.

alvarop says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:27am

The core game mechanic is really cool, although I'm not sure the implementation is the best it could be. I really enjoyed playing it though. One thing I think the game would benefit from is a change in the background colour.

Anyway, fun stuff. Maybe tweaking the main mechanic a little bit could make the game a lot better!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Challenging, well made game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/BarqoQ2BpLQ

blohod says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:07am

I am so horrible at this game, it is really nice though.
judged on stream at http://www.twitch.tv/meep706, watch the highlight to see me play

Gunzil says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:28am

Surprisingly good. The physics used to control the player are really fun to play with. I like all the little goop particles your character gives off, and how they smash into spikes just like your character does.

The environment and spike graphics are a bit plain, but the blob and title text look really nice with a lot of personality. Another pass on the environment would help a lot graphically. All the little messages the character says are cute as well. I like the use of emoticons :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]