Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Shine Vine

by Mr. - Compo Entry

Use the Left/Right Arrows or A/D to turn.

Guide this flower thing along its infinite, hopeless, randomly generated journey where it can potentially go ridiculously fast if you've got the luck and the skills.

The faster you go, the more points you get for touching those wavy orange things that look vaguely like sunlight. (that's what I call them in the editor)

The red things are supposed to be acid rain. I guess there's a very productive red dye factory nearby.

I've got to submit this a day early due time constraints, but feel free to submit criticism regardless. I'm hoping to hear advice related to the source code. If you don't like how the game is balanced in any case you can dramatically change how it's played by tweaking values if you have Unity 5.3 installed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2253Coolness17%

Comments

Catblocker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:52pm

I like the concept of the gameplay, it feels like it lacks some features thougt.

I would prefere if you changed the acid rain to something else to. Because now it looks to close to a water dropplets, wich is good for plants. What you should change it do, I don't know. Thats not my job! :I You are probably a clever kid / adult / dog / alien, you will think of something :)

Fathom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:27am

Good controls, cool art. Simple, but I enjoyed it!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Always a bummer when stuff comes in the way of jams.

While the red color of the drops gave me a sense of danger, especially since it is put in contrast to the appetizing yellow sunlight spots, I can't help but think that some other object, more obviously perilous to a flower, could have been used to suggest a link to impending doom.

Just the fact that you shipped a stable release under your conditions should give you a lot of positive points and happy smileys!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Pretty standard fare at this point, but a good effort.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Too simple

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Too simple, but solid

h.attila says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:26am

Hah! You and I had the same idea! :) Too bad you didn't have enough time to finish it, it would've been greatly improved by the addition of music and sound effects for example. I really like your art style though.

PixelMonkey says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:40am

Gameplay is pretty good on this one! The controls are nice and responsive, and it feels quite fair to play, even if it's difficult.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]