Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Snek - A modern snake clone for millenials

by ahmeni - Jam Entry

This is my third Ludum Dare entry and my first time jumping into the Jam! This time I'm a fully fledged Dad and man is it ever tough to find that time! However, I had a ton of fun learning the intricacies of Phaser and this is my first ever fully Phaser'd game!

This is a little Snake clone I call Snek. The controls are standard Arrow Keys: Left/Right, the onscreen arrows are for touch input if you are able to try it out on your mobile devices! WebGL is required for the Glow shader to work! Don't touch the sides, grab all the circles and head to the next level via the triangle!

A huuuuge shoutout to lindar in IRC who dropped some last minute beautiful jams!

Downloads and Links




Martins says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:35am

Snek is gold (or cyan ;)
Good fun :D

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:45am

I was having a bit of difficulty with controlling it, but I'm sure that's intentional. I really liked the music and the simplicity of it all. Very good work!

hexagore says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:48pm

This is a lot of fun, plus it looks really nice. To be honest one of the nicest looking phaser games I've seen. Lovely :)

csanyk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Decent. I would have preferred a larger viewpane for desktop browser.

LostTrainDude says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:35am

It was cool to see where the last snek ended is journey, though sometimes it would get a bit confusing if it happened too close to the rings I had to get.

Really nice, quick and polished entry!

zzapp says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:36am

Good fun. Nice use of growing and the two button controls while mixing the standard formula of snake up.

The main issue I had is after dying (Note: I died A LOT on some levels) the bodies on the screen really begin to effect performance.

the31 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:00am

Simple, with neat music. I hit an annoying bug where everything stayed on screen from the previous life after respawning. It made it really hard to navigate. It was also really hard to tell whether or not I got all the circles on each level, especially when there got to be more than three or so of them.

Zoom worked for me to get a larger play area.

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Nice. I had a hard time controlling it at first, but after a bit I got the hang of it. Still a little awkward controlling with the arrow keys for me, but I still like it and it looks good. Great job.

VDZ says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:00am

Although it took some time getting used to, Snake with 360 degrees rotation ends up causing rather interesting gameplay. (It's not really Snake due to the tail not being gameplay-relevant, but it's close enough.)

However, the game has significant technical issues that really drag it down. Corpses don't disappear after death. Rendering too much (for example, several of your previous corpses) causes a massive reduction in frame rate. The collectable circles bug out after you die. Collision detection is wonky, and sometimes you don't collect a circle you're definitely touching. And are there only two levels (plus the intro level), or is there some bug causing the freeze upon completing level 2?

Design-wise, feedback is sorely missing. You don't get any sound or graphical effect indicating you just lost HP, and some auditory feedback on collecting a coin would also be nice. There is also no quick way to check if you've finished collecting them all or if there are still some left. I also found some of the level design parts were too harsh. Most notably, the bottom right circle in level 1 is nigh-impossible to get and return without touching a side. A slightly more gradual difficulty buildup would've helped here.

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:00am

Graphics are really cool. The levels are insane difficulty though. And there's a weird bug where it doesn't clear the player from the screen when you die.

Catblocker says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:09pm

level 2 was impossible to complete, the old map overlay didn't dissepear so there were two maps on the screen at the same time.

Null DIES says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:05pm

The controls were a bit frustrating for me.
Also, if you can make the game have a wider viewport for desktop browsers, that would be great.

psychonull says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Cool game overall. Little hard to controlling it at first. Nice music and graphics!

LoneStranger says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:02am

Hard to control. Liked the graphic style and the music.

Larzan says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:56pm

Interesting take on the snake concept with two buttons.

You must sign in to comment.

Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

[cache: storing page]