Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Laser Command

by Docjekyll - Compo Entry

***Update: Added difficulty feature post-compo. No game logic changed--it's just like skipping ahead a few levels.***

Laser Command is like Missile Command with a twist.

You have to charge your laser before you can fire and enemies can only be hit by the correct type of laser.


Controls:
- A = charge pink/fuscia laser (release key to fire)
- F or S = charge blue laser (release key to fire)
- mouse cursor = aim laser
(on "How to play" screen, for convenience)
- PageUp = skip one level
- PageDown = go back one level


Technology:
- Phaser = HTML5 game engine (http://phaser.io/)
- Lodash = JavaScript utility library; barely used
- GIMP for image editing
- FL Studio 11 (+plugins) for music
- NodeJS for build process

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#29Audio4.00
#66Fun3.86
#72Mood3.81
#174Overall3.67
#198Graphics3.69
#254Innovation3.53
#599Theme3.58

Comments

sanojian says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:28am

Nice game. Its fun to line up combo shots. Some kind of score with a multiplier for combos would be fun. Its maybe a little too easy. When I lost on purpose, it still gave me the victory.

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:45am

Nice game, fun, but the challenge isn't too difficult..

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:48am

The way the music changes based on the laser is great - I found myself keeping my laser charged even if it wasn't needed just to play with the music.

Terrabalt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:08am

Nice game. could be a lil too easy, though

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:09am

There's a lot of good stuff going on here! Nice graphics, nice sound loop, and very clever use of the two additional themes that mix in depending on which button you hold down.

I kind of wanted to hear what BOTH would sound like mixed together.

If you wanted to take this further in a full game, you could do neat stuff with combo bonuses and maybe upgrades. I was fun lining up the laser to hit multiple enemies.

ncannasse says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:11am

Nice, but the pace is a bit slow. Sound effects would have been better too :) I like to music

ianh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:12am

I really like that thing you're doing with the music! I found myself shooting to the beat. Maybe an opportunity for a musical combo system? :)

John Drury says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:14am

Fun! combo shots were satisfying to make. Adding in little variation was great.

Bogden says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:59am

Neat, well polished. Would have been neat to see more uses for the 4 bases.

rantt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:41pm

I love how you mixed the music in with charging the lasers, very nice touch. Fun game, great job!

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Very nice game! I especially liked how certain parts of the music got louder when you charged the laser.

I missed what you wrote in the description about skipping levels, so it was a bit too easy for me.

hexagore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Nice music and love the visuals although oh my god is this game crying out for glowing stuff and trails and particles :) Couldn't work out how to skip btw!

pparke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:06pm

I enjoyed the laser charging and having to match the enemy with the type of laser used. The music was great. Could have faster progression or more variance in enemy strategies but those are just polishing. Nice work :)

psychonull says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:33am

Great game idea. It's really fun to play it. Congratulations!

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:52am

This was very fun. I enjoyed it, so good job. One thing I felt that could have been added, or would have just been cool in general, is if I could have fired both lasers at the same time. Maybe just require it to take much longer to charge, but it could combine into a super shot if you have enough time.

Kenneth Ng says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:31am

Love the art. Cool style. Difficult game, but very addicting, ended up playing longer than I thought I would haha.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:03am

A fun twist on missile commander. I like that you have to match the color of the enemy, and that different charge levels affect different enemies.

LoneStranger says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:25am

Interesting twist on the Command game with the two laser types. I was in no way good enough to get through Easy, but I can see the potential with a little more lead time or some other balancing between charge time/enemy toughness.

loxo says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Good game! I like the simple graphics and the great music. It's fun to play and gets rather challenging in higher levels, but it gets there only slowly. I wonder if some sound effects would improve the game.

Clabbage says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:07am

Really fun and pretty game. I loved the sound and audio.

ac7 says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:02am

Good concept and well-polished given the time constraints. The music was awesome!

Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:09am

audio and mood are fabulous! i expected different things as the level progressed, but it seemed like the same things. Still, that music changes were fun!

Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:29am

So much juice packed in here for a mere 48 hours. Music cues based on laser, clean visuals, great twist on the genre. Nice work.

nucleartide says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:20am

Fun game. The graphics are very charming, they remind me of carbine rifles in Halo. :D Laser sound effects would be nice. Lining up combo shots is very satisfying.

Efuvex says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:44am

Really cool audio :)

Tacohej says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 9:27am

++ Graphics looks great. Very weapon juicy charging animation.
+ Gameplay. The way you charge up and tries to achive combos is great, giving it a more strategic feel rather then just button mashing.
++ Music. Great track, very suiting for the theme. Nice use of different track based on weapon

- To many lives. Even when you are doing terribly, you have a high chance of winning since losing all bases are rare.
- Sound effects - Would be nice!
- Difficulties. For this kind of game, I think only "Normal" would be enough since the game gets harder with levels.

Overall great job!

drinkadriu says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 9:57am

So addictive and interesting

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 11:19am

Nice missile command and ikaruga mixture. Consistent art style, just missing some good meaty sound effects.

SamH says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:05am

Interesting mechanics, it was a pretty enjoyable experience. Aiming was a bit too easy; I’d have liked more diversity in enemy patterns, maybe.

Bocodillo says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:39am

Very solid game. Fun, good looking and the music suits it well. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]