Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

bat story

by maunovaha - Jam Entry

bat story
----------------------

Once upon a time, there was an old vampire...

...this vampire was so old that he couldn’t remember what it felt to be outside the castle...

...and this is where our story begins...


How to play
----------------------

Use your arrows (left & right) to move... if you hold one arrow while pressing other it switches to bat.. falling down switches to vampire.

When you move next to an enemy, you can attack him.


Credits
----------------------

Code / Graphics / Audio, etc:
Mauno Vähä (@maunovaha).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#123Graphics(Jam)4.21
#187Audio(Jam)3.60
#212Mood(Jam)3.62
#223Overall(Jam)3.64
#281Theme(Jam)3.94
#286Fun(Jam)3.45
#354Humor(Jam)2.92
#397Innovation(Jam)3.30

Comments

ruerob says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:50am

Great entry! I really like the gameboy-ish graphics! The sounds are nice, too. I liked the ending of the story! Sometimes it was a bit hard to play, but that is more a problem of the theme. Great Work!

maunovaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:17am

Thanks for the kind words ^^. And I agree, I probably should have spent more time on fine-tuning the gameplay, but I literally just managed to get the game finished. Thus, this happens to me at every gamejam. :D

MAB says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:23pm

reaaly good graphics and nice idea

kmakai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Great job with the sound and music! I also really liked the style of the sprites/tiles, it seemed very cohesive despite how little time there was to put it together. There were a couple of spots where it seemed like the shape of the level made it very hard not to get hit, but that wasn't a big deal. Congratulations!

architect404 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:32pm

nice graphics and sound and a touch of humour. good use of getting extra functions out of two buttons. fun entry, great job!

maunovaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Thanks for the feedback! I spent majority of my time to making those simple graphics, so it feels great to hear that. hence, I am a programmer not an artist, so it feels even better. Thus, I agree that some of the levels were made like that.. but for those reasons I added some hp pick ups here and there. (;

Dege says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:35pm

I love it! I love the colors and the music, the bat is tooo cute! The gameplay is very creative!

Didi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Nice pixel art, and story!

Mechamism says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Love the style of this game! Wish there was more to play!

_stice says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Solid entry!

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:45pm

I like the controls man! Retro style graphics are awesome. The music do a good work too

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:26pm

I just avoided all enemies and collected the necessary hearts along the way haha. Very cute game.

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Really like the flying mechanic, felt great although switching was sometimes a little tough. The guards were assholes though, they kept stepping on my head and I couldn't escape haha.

Got to the end eventually though... did I die? :O

maunovaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:01pm

haha.. :D sounds great.. and about the ending, let's keep it as a secret ;)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Looks good! I love the Gameboy graphics. You definitely nailed the style! Music is good too, but it was really soft on my end compared to the SFX. Mechanics are a little clunky. Some times I would just want to back away from an enemy but I end up turning into a bat and some glitches when turning into a bat in tight areas. But seriously good job on this one, it came out great!

Andrei says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:26pm

Funny story ^^
Well executed game! I liked the transformation mechanic and the way you attack (after I understand it).

ChromeWisp says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:07am

Beautiful art, cool flying mechanic too!

Jwatt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:12am

A pretty versatile use of the theme. With just two buttons, you can either lure enemies around, try to dodge them as a bat, or straight up punch them. Gotta say the presentation is a step up from some of your earlier jam entries I've seen.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:43am

I like the transformation concept a lot but I think the time it takes to change should be a bit less (although I did manage to circumvent that limit by alternating between the two arrow keys). My only gripe is that the only way I could exit the game was to alt-tab first instead of pressing alt+f4 or esc.

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:12am

Awesome little game! I honestly found more fun to just avoid the enemies than to fight them. Loved the aestethic choice!

Remicy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:00am

Amazing art and idea! Love this game!

maunovaha says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:10am

Thanks for all the feedback.. :) Didn't knew that so many would even play it, cool! ^^

krashja says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Very cool game, i like the movement mechanic ;), nice work also, great art!

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:30am

Cool mechanic! It's fun changing forms and trying to dodge stuff. The camera is a bit too shaky when you're flying and it's moving up and down, but it's nothing too bad. The graphics are nice and evocative -- I like the darkness punctuated by torches. And the baroque-y organ is a nice touch, very Dracula!

MorseAmalgam says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:29am

Cool idea! I ran into an issue where oftentimes the transformation would play over and over rapidly which could be a little grating (Very noisy) but I'm not entirely sure what caused it.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Haha! Awesome entry! Loved the ending ;)
Even with being limited to only two buttons you managed to pull it off - the game felt good. Well done :)

scorched says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Nice. Liked the humour and controls, wish you could turn back into vampire in the middle of flight :-)

Skywilly says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:43pm

I love the ending :P

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]