Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Reaching Skyward

by SelfTitled - Compo Entry

In Reaching Skyward you build a plant and reach for the sky. Manage water and energy.

Leafs produce carbon and produce energy but require water.
Roots require energy and produce water.
Stems provide structure for your plant but also requires water and energy.

if a node of your plant goes for to long without required resources it will die and fall off.

There is no goal (ran out of time :( ).

Controls
-----------------------------
Mouse
- Left click node to select and click buttons that appear to perform actions.
- Right click cancel action.
- Middle mouse button drag camera around.
- Scroll wheel to zoom.

Backspace - goes back to main menu
W, A, S,D - Move camera
Q, E - Zoom in/out
1,2 - max zoom, min zoom


Software Used
-----------------------------
Unity
Visual Studio
Paint.net
Krita
Audacity
Garage Band

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#173Theme4.08
#217Innovation3.60
#278Audio3.09
#331Graphics3.38
#384Mood3.09
#653Overall3.04
#675Humor1.80
#694Fun2.84

Comments

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Cool concept!

Too bad you couldn't finish it, I like the growing though.

3 double roots and every stem with 2 leafs seems to do the job

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Really nice looking game! I found the mouse control a bit touchy, but that might just be me. :) Overall, really nice!

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Super prototype.

BlazzGuy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Very enjoyable growing look. Nice to look at for sure. It is a shame there's little substance to it - apart from lacking carbon to expand, I never noticed any strain on my plant...? Maybe I should just try to build only stems and observe my failings, but it definitely looks like an idea to explore further!

Reggianito says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:45pm

Lovely prototype, would love to see expanded into a game. The font is sometimes unreadable.

Windywyll says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Really cool concept, i wish i could test it if you finish it.

hydancer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:34am

I like this idea. It reminds me of one those resource mining strategy flash games. It would be cool to be able to see some sort of water/energy flow within the tree so people can get a better idea of what does what. It would also be cool if you could eventually expand to manage multiple trees. It would be even cooler if you could evolve your trees to do one or another thing really well based on the surrounding environment or something. I guess I really liked this general idea. Your execution was OK for the time given and I'd love to see it expanded.

Japes says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:54am

Dude I had almost the exact same idea as you!
Check it out: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=38385

Because of this I might be a bit biased when I say it's a great idea :)

You're is definitely more polished. I added physics to mine, so branches can break if they're too heavy.

One thing I would suggest is make the energy and water rates always visible, I had to always have one node clicked to see how my resources are doing.
Other than that I would just say the variables need a bit of tweaking to make it more challenging, but you probably would've done this if you had more time anyway.
Mine doesn't have an end goal either, and also suffers from balance issues.

Good job :)

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Great entry! I enjoyed growing my plant and trying funky architectures. Graphics were good too.

mukult says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:14pm

No mac or a web version!!
Damn...cant play it! :|

Yvanor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Good prototype, so bad you didn't have time to finish it, it could be great :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:22pm

This was really fun but after a while it became a little too repetitive, but I assume that would be different had you finished :P well done :)

KriBoNiTa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Looking really nice !

I like concept, colors and UI, good job.

Pepejson says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Very interesting game, shame it does'n have any goal, but still it's addictive game :)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Nice, like the others said would be nice if it was complete but great prototype.

alhvi says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:38pm

Really interesting concept. Nice UI too :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]