Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Happy Little Flower

by Reccy - Jam Entry

Happy Little Flower is a game where you are tasked with accelerating the growth of a Flower in a laboratory environment, by using an experimental mutagen. All you have to do is press the green button. Or was it the red one? Well... what could possibly go wrong?

This game features multiple endings and is about 5 minutes long per playthrough.

=====LD Notes=====
This game attempts to fit the "Two Button Controls" theme by having only two button controls... :P

It then tries to fit the "Growing" theme by having the story revolve around trying to grow the Happy Little Flower.

The Mac and Linux versions are available, but are untested. If you encounter a problem with these versions, could you let me know what happened so I can try to figure out a way to fix these issues?

=====Font Used=====
Since people seem to like the font, here's the one I used :P
http://www.dafont.com/pixel-gosub.font
The drop-shadow effect was done in Unity.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#83Theme(Jam)4.23
#191Humor(Jam)3.35
#341Mood(Jam)3.43
#390Innovation(Jam)3.31
#455Overall(Jam)3.38
#509Graphics(Jam)3.47
#644Audio(Jam)2.58
#659Fun(Jam)2.98

Comments

blohod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:35am

What did i do?!!!!!
great job

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:57am

Cool presentation, really nice graphic and interesting interaction with the game. I unfortunately couldn't resist the red button :P

Eingya says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:00am

Well I failed the experiment :p

Nice little proof of style though

XtremePrime says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:57am

Great job with the game :> It's definitely something worth expanding on! The style and aesthetics are great! c:

jangdan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:03am

really curious about the ending. one of the reasons why i just couldn't take the time too finish was because the text animation was too slow. usually there is a skip button...

other that that, the graphics are simple, I LOVE THE TYPEFACE, and it really felt like an experiment. nice!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:57am

Great work. Nice presentation with good graphics.

bodsey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:09am

Great respect to the theme. It's more an interactive narrative thingy than a game I guess, but it works fine!

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:13am

Fun to play! Nice personal touch with the name :) The endings are interesting and funny as well. Maybe the dialogue was a bit slow; next time you could implement a key to skip the lines? Pokemon style, with space or something? The sounds and images were very coherent and gave of a very retro vibe. Nicely done!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Goes really slowly. But it's a nice little... uhhh, experiment?

Dreyan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:45pm

A bit slow, but cute and enjoyable. Graphics, dialogue, audio all go very well together (:

JaytleBee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:25pm

One tip: If you're going to make a replay-heavy game, give me the option to skip the dialogue I know already.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Animation text is a little bit too slow, but the concept is good! this is a nice entry!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Linuxversion refuses to launch, although it works fine nuder Wine. I just came through growing sequence without pressing red button and it was kinda boring =) Maybe the reason is I'm too obedient for such kind of games :D

vortex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Really funny...
The graphics were really nice and smooth and the clicking sound was really statisfying.
The red button was just too tempting to me...
You got fired...

Polith Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Very cool game!

micky says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:02pm

strange little game :) i couldn't help but press the red button, a lot, nothing but the red haha great fun :)

Ardy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Yes, please. Consider adding a skip text button. It's specially necessary on games where it repeats the text

kaype says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:24pm

typewriter effect is a bit too slow, but at the same time the font is absolutely beautiful

very funny as well

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:29pm

We should just keep pumping up the mutagen, what could go wrong ;)
Well my plant just kept dying so I guess success?

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:58pm

I failed:D , But the font was godlike, was it a divine gift from beyond the starts? I'd like to see more!

Quadnozzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:24pm

First playthrough, red button all the way, haha. Tried a few other ways after that initial customary defiance - I like the multiple endings! Great typeface too. That and the sound gave it a C64-era vibe. Would suggest a skip button so replays can progress a little faster. Probably the most enjoyably unusual game I've played for LD34 so far, nice work.

DecayConstant says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:01am

Nice job applying both themes! :D
I agree with the others that some option to either skip text or control text speed would be helpful for hunting those other endings.

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Very nice narratives going on there! Love it!

bering says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:44pm

That game is pretty fun! A way to skip the text animation is a must if you want players to keep trying to find different endings though. I got 3, how many are there? Nice graphics too, and the buttons sound great! Nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]