Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Legendary Legionnaire Massacre 2

by banana4life - Jam Entry

Hey guys,

We are a german team consisting of 5 members. We came up with our crazy game "Legendary Legionnaire Massacre 2 - The Empire strikes back". It is a successor to our last game "Legendary Legionnaire Winter Massacre"(http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=41477).

You play the legionnaire empire. The aliens have landed on the planet and you have to manage your ever GROWING forces to defeat their ever GROWING forces. To do so you start with only one castle that produces one of the three unit types. You have to take neutral cities to expand your empire and at the end take all of the aliens villages. But pay attention: The aliens have laser-weapons and some of them ride unicorns, their domestic mounts... :)

########################################

CONTROLS

LOOK AROUND: Right mouse down and drag
1.) CHOOSE UNITS: Left click on village and...
2.) ... CHOOSE TARGET: Left click on other village (move to friendly or attack neutral/enemy)
PAUSE: Escape

Advanced controls (more than two buttons needed):
MULTI-SELECT: Left mouse down and drag box around multiple villages
ADJUST HOW MANY UNITS ARE SENT: Scroll while choosing target

########################################

Hint: It's crucial to select the right unit type to stand a chance in a fight. Horse riders are strong against archers but weak against stabby melee lance fighters. Archers are strong against melee fighters but weak against... you get the idea.

########################################

CREDITS

Art:
- Jonas
Music:
- Katharina
Code:
- Anselm
- Phillip
- Niko

And if you like the music:
https://soundcloud.com/rahtainka

Have fun with our entry,
Team Banana4Life

Website: http://banana4.life
Twitter: @bananafourlife

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#187Audio(Jam)3.60
#231Overall(Jam)3.63
#239Fun(Jam)3.52
#443Mood(Jam)3.30
#455Innovation(Jam)3.23
#642Humor(Jam)2.42
#668Graphics(Jam)3.15
#752Theme(Jam)3.39

Comments

sathorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:14am

I can't select a village? When i left click, nothing happens. Using the WebGL version.

banana4life says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:21am

Maybe you tried to select a neutral village?
Your villages have a golden border.
The camera might not be centered on the starting village at start.

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:38am

I'm a sucker for army and base-building games. I always enjoy them. This one is no exception.
I really like how you begin to expand your influence, and the game becomes more hectic.
Fun stuff!

Mr_Fudd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:48am

Pretty entertaining. I liked seeing my swarm of soldiers march across the screen. It started to lag once I started sending 50+ soldiers at the same time though. It would be cool to see towns that spawned giants to fight or upgraded your current troops.

OmaLuise says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:12pm

oh, how beautiful your game become. Now that I've played through it and the Hero song accompanied me through the evening.
thank you for the beautiful game and this music.

marod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:23pm

I like the game mechanics, it's a very good game anf very funny

VladRusu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Oh, Gawd! I just love the end music, that was so unexpected. Gonna play it again just to hear it again.
Overall it was pretty fun to play, although I find it a bit hard to move around the map with a trackpad.

ohmmus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:28pm

REALLY wanted to send huge swarms without my computer lagging (i7 3770k, GTX670, 16GB ram). Still overall a great game, super entertaining! Well done!

AndyBrown says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Love seeing the swarms of troops moving, these kind of games are really addicting! Nice job!

justacookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:26pm

I used to play GalCon against my friends when we were still in school and had almost forgotten how addicting this game is! So i really enjoyed your game a lot!

The game didn't lag for me and the only problem i had was that i couldn't quit/restart with the E key.

I've played the game on easy and hard AI and i was glad that i didn't get smashed by the easy AI, but at the same time i think the hard AI could also be a little bit more challenging.

The audio and music was nice and it was a funny touch to make the units sound warcraft-3-ish.
(it made me smile like an idiot XD).

Hm.. what else..
Oh, I LOVE THE PIXELART <3
especially the alien infested castles!

Gameplay wise, i think it was a good idea to make a box selection for multiple castles, but since you always just send half of your units it would have been nice if we could keep them selected after clicking on an enemy castle, so that if we wanted to send almost all of the available units, we could just click a couple of times instead of scrolling back and selecting everything again.

Also, winning in this game feels awesome, because at the end you get a cute song for your victory :)
Its a cool reward, much better than just ending a LDgame with "You won", and i really enjoyed listening to it until it was over.

thanks bananas for setting up such an entertaining twitch stream!

paulfysh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:03pm

You had me at "The empire strikes back"...
Really enjoyed it, good entry, but how can you choose what unit to produce? Is it random per castle?

smatcher says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:13pm

I love the crowd effect.

the-arrival says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Very satisfiing gameplay! And the song in the end is sticky! Great and creative work.

oparisy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:19pm

So great you wrote the song! Liked the general gameplay, even if I did not really understand why there were three numbers by city. Graphisms were minimal but easy to read. Very nice you recorded voices for actions too, felt like Warceaft 2 :-) Thanks, a pleasant game to play.

jdoughty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:10am

Very cool to see an rts built in this short span of time. Alot of fun!

broknecho says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:38am

Absolutely love these style of games. Really well done! Was really neat seeing the paper rock scissor fighting mechanic mixed in there. Nice sounds and end song!

Great job!

banana4life says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Thank you all for the great feedback. We are flattered.

@Mr_Fudd Is the lag only a problem of the Web version? It started lagging for me at 500+ units. We had ideas regarding "super units", but unfortunately did not get to it.

@VladRusu Maybe we will have time to add arrow keys for navigation tonight.

@ohmmus What means huge for you? :D I think swarms of 500-1000+ soldiers should be no problem for you

@justacookie I made the pixelart :3 With the scroll wheel you can select how many of your units you want to send in percent

@paulfysh Yes it is random. And I think you have to focus on getting villages with each unit type in the beginning of the game. Makes the castles strategic resources.

@oparisy Yeah maybe a tutorial would have helped. The numbers are for the three unit types. You can send unit of your own to other cities of your own and collect them for a big hit.

Again thank you all for your comments. :)

- Jonas

smbe19 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Really loved it.

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:18am

I really enjoy this sort of game, played many hours of similar ones to pass the time in Uni...
I liked the addition of the rock-paper-scissors mechanic, though I did have to look a little harder to properly tell the difference between unit types...

Good work...!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:18am

Love the end song, i'm the hero \o/ Took me a bit to figure out that one of the villages was interactable, but once i did it was a lot of fun

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:49am

Controls are on trial and error and the map is too big for this kind of game. Gets boring real fast.

WeirdMind says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:30am

It makes a lot of fun, the sound (and music!) are nice (and awesome!). The easy mode can be hard because every match is randomized generated and i think you need a bit luck to get an really easy game. But it makes fun and i enjoyed it.

MoreRPG Team says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Addicting game =) Though aliens were capturing towns much quicker than me...

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:22pm

I really like the real-time swarm strategy genre and this one is a good addition.

The (alien) graphics reminded me of Infested Planet (a great real-time tactics game) while the gameplay is closer to Eufloria (the quintessential swarm strategy game, for me at least.)

Some suggestions:

- Restart button and/or a back to main menu button.

- Optimization. Spawning hundreds of unit at once when moving them causes lag even when using the standalone player. There are multiple ways to fix this:

* Having one unit represent more than one soldier (the super-unit idea you mentioned.)

* Object pooling i.e. reusing the soldier objects so that they don't need to be instantiated again all the time.

* Spawning units one (or a few) at a time until all of them have moved. This requires some logic changes so that you cannot send the same trooper twice, but it's doable.

I would love to see an optimized post-jam version.
No pressure!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:05am

I like defeat vilain aliens, and I like the ending song. Well done !

Tapehead says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:07pm

very hard but also very entertaining!!! a lot!

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Wow, easy AI is kind of difficult. Perhaps a speed setting would have helped? Also, it was hard to tell which base was owned by your, although it was easy to tell which was taken over by the aliens.

Had a bit of fun, though. Very twitch-reaction-heavy real-time strategy game. Had to react fast to the situation.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Nice entry! The crowd effect looks cool and mechanisms are polished. I wish it was not real time, because I had trouble managing all thoses villages whereas the computer does not xD Audio sounds good! Good job ;)

ashdnazg says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Very neat! graphics are great, and gameplay is solid.
It may have been good to explain the controls in the game.

At first I thought music was pretty cool, and then I hit the song in the end which was not only amusing but very good!

There were some performance issues when moving lots of soldiers around, but other than that, a really impressive game! Good job :)

Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:24pm

Really cool! Love the smooth movement of armies, I could just watch them run around for an hour. :D

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:30pm

These games are not really my cup of tea but the experience felt quite polished and consistent. Good, solid work.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]