Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Shivering

by ztiromoritz - Jam Entry

Shivering - shake the tree to feed the hedgehogs.
A meditative experience by ztiromoritz

LEFT and RIGHT to shake the tree.
Refresh to start over.

++++++
EDIT: Added a Post Jam Version. Apples should keep droping now.
Still no define end in this game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#335Theme(Jam)3.87
#390Mood(Jam)3.36
#444Innovation(Jam)3.24
#463Audio(Jam)3.12
#604Humor(Jam)2.50
#723Graphics(Jam)3.04
#772Overall(Jam)3.03
#921Fun(Jam)2.59

Comments

linseyray says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Very charming, when the fruits stopped dropping, I reached down on the sides of the screen to try and feed them--my branches were just long enough! :) It's shame they stop dropping very shortly though, I'm not sure if that was intended.

utgarda says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Meditative it is :)

Apples stop falling after a short while.

Nicolas Gass says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:05pm

My fruits stopped dropping fast =(. Theme 5/5. Nice Idea.

ztiromoritz says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:51pm

Thanks for your feedback and voting. Added a Post Jam Version. The apples should keep dropping now.

PixelMonkey says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:12am

Very interesting game, nice and relaxing!

alieh says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:52pm

it was fun ;)
i wish some thing happen for fruits that fall on the ground
try to continue , it was a good idea . :)

Zenol says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:58pm

I really love the idea, the color, the game-play. Really original.

dlowe says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Thanks for the interesting and oddly addictive experience :)

narve says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:25pm

I thought the art was pretty adorable. I was disappointed when the fruit stopped falling. But overall a cute game.

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Very cute! Love the hedgehogs.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Really nice and relaxing, but was hoping something to happen, like bigger hedgehogs or some wolf eating the hedgehogs; the music is really cool, good luck!

Omiya Games says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:40am

Like the audio of the game a lot. Not exactly my cup of tea: it was a simple experience with no extra controls to create change.

ztiromoritz says ...
Jan 6, 2016 @ 9:46am

Not sure if anyone will come back here after voting but:
Thanks a lot for all your feedback and votes. I was as usual a pleasure to participate.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]