Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Deerhunt

by DoggyDog - Compo Entry

This game is so simple.
Rotate the character with key 'J' and shoot with the key 'K'.
Made in one day. Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2373Coolness10%

Comments

BigBrother says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 2:02am

Wow, this is super fun and awesome! The controls were a little cumbersome, but I got used to them pretty quickly. I really like seeing awesome games like this, and you put it out so quickly! Nice job dude!

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:04am

This compo theme 'two buttons' seems to be too restrictive to me. This game could be better without 4 buttons, for sure. Asesome effect sounds and creppy theme. Congratulations!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:46am

awesome! well done

Dec 13, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Only if you gave the player animation a few more frames :(
It does not even look like he walks to me...

joksnet says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Great shot effect. At some point it becomes slow and unstable.

Zulgot says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Fakt sranda :D Pěkná animace chcípajících záporáků :D

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:26am

Wow!! the game is awesome... but the thing is ... I agree with eruiz00... Two buttons make it way more restrictive!!

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:47am

Pretty cool... I agree that this game screams "4 button direction", but you have to stay within the rules. Nice effort.

GodsBoss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:57am

How can a simple game like this be so addictive? Great work!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Difficult, but fun. Not much else to say, honestly.

zaniarm says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:18pm

I like the idea and it's fun to play. It takes time to get used to the controls. Overall great game, job well done.

Thembi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:22pm

I felt like the control scheme was just kind of crammed into the theme. May as well have just given me arrow keys.

But I liked your deer, and shooting felt pretty satisfying.

Zulgot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Ještě jednou s ratingem :D

MAnimal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:54am

Creepy mood, has the maze end?

issa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:40am

It would've probably been more fun if it had 360 rotation (hold to rotate or something).

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]