Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Infinite Tower

by Eduardo - Compo Entry

Jump and go up as much as you can to make more points.

If you are on the ground, you shot laser up, if you are jumping you shot lasers to your sides. Some blocks can't be killed!

There's gamepad support, the buttons depends on your gamapad. One button jump, the other one shot lasers.

Keyboard contols:
jump: K or Z or A

shoot: L or X or S

Known issues:

- Sometimes you can get stuck on the walls.
- The player can be killed if collide with a dying spike block

Edit: I fixed the code to generate levels, there was some crashes and a critical performance issue with the old code.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#334Innovation3.39
#455Theme3.77
#456Overall3.26
#458Fun3.18
#468Mood2.97
#506Graphics3.05
#655Humor1.91

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:36am

This is almost addictive.

I really like the concept, and it's very fun to.
However, every now and then the screen freezes and I end up dying due to this.
Good job though!

burntoast2000 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:10am

Very smooth. I love the repetitive nature of the game, I'm pretty sure I was playing for like 5min ,but it could have been an hour for all I know! so addicting!

gironC says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:37am

It's addictive, the concept is simple, but awesome!

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:24am

couldn't quite work it out bu I had fun anyway

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:27am

Wow this is like the perfect mix of Doodle Jump and Awesome MeatBoy!! Super hard, I love the mechanics! I love the effect when the laser is shot. Sometimes I can get stuck in a corner, not sure if it's a feature or a bug? :) Really misses some good old arcade sound and music. Great job!

irwatts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:30am

Seems challenging but fair!

candlesan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:30am

Really liked being able to try to get higher and higher. Not sure why the lasers would shoot horizontal though. seemed frustrating without adding much gameplay. Loved double jumping though and the randomized level generation.

OdnetninI says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:33am

I got stuck on the wall :( but it's a funny game.

ianh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:07am

Really solid two-button game! I love the low-fi graphical style. One small annoyance: after you shoot an enemy, it can still kill you until it has disappeared.

tanis says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:45am

Hard and addictive! I love the mechanics!

johntherobot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Good job! Challenging; seems like I either need to attack earlier or the blocks don't disappear quite quick enough--I end up dying to blocks I think I've destroyed. Probably just me not being that good though haha!

djdudes100 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:11pm

good job

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Simple game. Lacks some presentation in the game itself, it'll help in making the experience better.

lonewookie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Cool gameplay concept. Challenging and addicting.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:03pm

This is really fun. an addictive. Great job. It did slow down for me on latter levels but that might have just been my pc.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:19pm

HUGELY addictive. Great stuff.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:51pm

The gameplay is really good, but it's kind of soiled by technical problems. You already know about the lag, but attacking is kind of...clunky. Graphics are nice and polished, however!

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:06pm

really addicting and fun, could easily see this being a huge time-sink for me on mobile, nice graphics, and nice gameplay.

Great work! :)

SineGlitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:43pm

The player attack is awesome really well done. overall its a super fun game!

francoisvn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:36am

Very elegant. Took a moment or two to figure out some blocks are invulnerable. Would like to try a version where I can control side movement, but that would be a very different game.

Lares Yamoir says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Reminds me of Icy Tower, only more action focused. Nice.

Eduardo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Thanks everybody for the feedback, i didn't expect all these. thank you!

I fixed some of the issues about performance!

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:38am

Liked the innovation, theme, and graphics. Fun game too, well done!

blackmagic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:03am

Very nice, you may smooth difficulty a bit for moar addiction.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:28am

A bit too challenging for me :D I can barely get to 3 or 4 :( But I love the concept and the style!

Jwatt says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 5:20pm

It's a fun, mindless sort of reaction game. Good for rapid replaying. Was having difficulties determining what my orientation is for shooting, though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]