Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

You can't see but you can feel

by Cliff Lee(CL) - Jam Entry

/********************************************/
**********************************************

Dear players:

You need headphone or earphone to play the game
(To hear the sound from different positions)

**********************************************
/********************************************/


This is my fifth time to attend Ludum Dare, this time have two themes(Growing, two button controls)!
After brainstrom, I decide to make this experimental game.
Although it is unusual to play game this way, I want to know how people will react to this kind of game.
Feel free to tell me how you felt after playing :)

Like always, Hope that everyone will enjoy my game :)

------Game list----
LD30 : Parallel Worlds
LD31 : Screen Pong
LD32 : Coder VS Bugs
LD33 : Ninja Cockroach
LD34 : You can't see but you can feel

This is a adventure(kind of) game.
Imagine you walking in a room with eyes closed, you can't see any thing, so you must feel the way you're heading to.
"See with your ear"

Game Goal :
Find the music box by your ear.

Control :
"A", "<--" to turn left.
"D", "-->" to turn right.
Mouse click to interact with UI.

Used tools:
----Game----
Unity Engine

----Version Control----
SourceTree(git)

----Chart----
Coggle
Draw.io

Art and audio comes from online resourses.
Game are made by myself.

Designed and made by Cliff Lee CL.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#21Innovation(Jam)4.15
#42Audio(Jam)4.11
#200Mood(Jam)3.63
#225Theme(Jam)4.00
#282Overall(Jam)3.56
#557Fun(Jam)3.11
#833Humor(Jam)1.81
#940Graphics(Jam)2.38

Comments

AsixJin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:26am

The atmosphere the game gives off is great and very relaxing but I didn't get it...I see there is an Android version. I might give those a try with my headphones

iantttianttt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:35am

So cool theme
May be my technique is not good, but a little footsteps positional interference guitar
Simple interface look good

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:22am

Great idea, with some polish this could be a fun little game experience. great work. Definitely one of the most innovative interpretations of the theme I've come across.

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Awesome audio and atmosphere! Really liked playing this game.

GogglesKitty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:42am

Certainly lacking on the graphics category...
Seriously though, this is a really cool concept for a game! I like it.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Very creative game ! It was very fun (and difficult because not common) to try to catch the music box with only the sound.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Very innovative game, I am glad to see something different in this jam, pretty good use of theme two button control and the music grows in sound as you get near. Not much in terms of graphics though but that's fine for this game.

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Quite novel idea!
Though my earphone (or my ear) is bad at sound positioning.
I stucked at level 2 orz.

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:17am

Interesting idea, but by even the second level I found it extremely hard to locate the music box. I couldn't tell if I was walking towards it or away from it and I often found myself walking towards it only to miss.

eerongal says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Interesting idea, executed pretty well, too. Nice work!

mitya1234 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:24am

This game represents me LoZ: Ocarina of Time where you slould find the way by music. Nice!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:44am

Pretty difficult but the concept is very interesting.

ZYXer says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:01am

Wow! such an awesome game concept! I'm impressed.

At first I found it kind of frustrating, but then I closed my eyes and it became really relaxing ...though the music gets repetitive after a while ;)

And either my headphones or my ears are broken, but I wasn't able to find all music boxes in level 2.

It would be cool to see the map and the path you took after you completed each level.

ChiPassGames says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 5:24am

Very cool. Non-video video game. Needs a little polish, but I love the concept.

anv says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:47pm

Very nice use of audio.

LeReveur says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:16pm

I really like this relaxing guitar sound, and that's exactly that I have to follow to finish this game, cool ! I was not sure I could find these boxes just be earing at it, but I managed to win. Good idea !

Bogden says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 8:07am

This is really neat! Love the idea!

Mar 30, 2016 @ 1:55pm

Really unique game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/S5oK4fsls3Q

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]