Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Stellar Ninja DX

by eruiz00 - Jam Entry

STELLAR NINJA DX

I wanted to make a classic platformer, so this is what I have.

4 mini stages + boss. Cursors+ZX. Made in 3 vacations days.

Typescript + Phaser. VSCode project and source included.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#284Audio(Jam)3.43
#402Fun(Jam)3.29
#432Humor(Jam)2.78
#468Graphics(Jam)3.55
#592Overall(Jam)3.24
#923Innovation(Jam)2.41
#1038Theme(Jam)2.53

Comments

fishbrain says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Nicely done! It does indeed feel like a classic platformer, I'm afraid I didn't get too far though - I might have to come back and give it another shot :) I like the visuals.

chriiis88 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Nice and fitting graphics and sound. What I don't like, however, is that on a qwertz keyboard I have to do finger acrobatics to play this game. "a" and "s" would be better choices.

Akhera says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:54pm

The art and music are awesome, but the controls are just horribly unintuitive. I have to think all the time to do what I want. I can't get very far because of that.

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Have to think about... the truth is that is a simple platformer with one button to jump and other to shoot...

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Nice art and music, though the sound effects got a bit annoying. The controls are a bit unintuitive like it was told already, and that made the game very hard at points. But it's still a solid entry, good job!

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:35am

Not loading for me for some reason. I'm on Safari on OS X. Wouldn't load on LD or via DropBox.

Fathom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Really cool style - I love the art and sound design. Fun game, good work!

thedashdude says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:52am

Maybe I wasn't good or far enough, but checkpoints would be nice. A solid entry none the less.

Codexus says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Well implemented mini arcade game. Bu why make everything hard to see and dull by not using colors?

psychonull says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Amazing graphics and sounds. Great work!

srakowski says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:02am

Fun little platformer, well done! And kudos for the intro two button control mini game :)

Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Fun game, great music and sound. I like your interpretation of the theme. :)

adsilcott says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:57pm

It's funny the way you worked the theme into a mini game. The game itself is good. Kind of reminds me of the old ghouls and ghosts game, since you have to play over and over to memorize the enemy patterns.

Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:03pm

;)

Have to say that controls aren't perfect, I am often pressing jump instead of fire and vice versa.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Nice I liked it, almost megaman style platforming. Very hard and very fun.

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Pro:
+ Art style and audio is great
Con:
- One hit kill with no checkpoints (at least I didn't find one) is a bit cruel
- Collision box are a bit weird, specially on the big guy
Obs:
o You can shoot even after death

Great work!

scorched says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Good overall, but those guys that always catch me right after jumping over pit are frustrating!

alliel_a says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:08pm

nice game

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Actually I finish the game without lose lifes. It's a question of practice. Thank folks!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Pretty hard (like 8 bit era platformers hard) but solid platformer. Too bad there's no WASD option for movement as I personally find the Arrow+ZX method to be slightly awkward (being left-handed and all).

LeReveur says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:56am

I'm so bad I can't go further than just after the first shooter, but yet a good platformer for what I've seen. :)

Dec 27, 2015 @ 1:31am

Not so much a platformer as it is a game of memorization.

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Cool. I almost thought the alternate clicking IS the game. Nice surprise. However, I would like to give you a hint for future development.

Never use Z or Y for controls. These are on different positions on different keyboard layouts (different languages), so on my keyboard, X is some 5 keys apart from Z. Either allow player to bind keys to whatever they want, or set controls to universal keys like space, enter, shift, control etc.

Well done, anyway!

Keep up the good work.

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:54am

Have no time for more, although did not think about vonttols. Always liked to use z and x as does not intetfere with cursors (although this is my case) but in future compos i'll fix thos. Thanks!

KanedaXIII says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:32pm

Nicely done! But too hard for me :S

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]