Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

No Space For Cows

by concalf - Jam Entry

Collect bales to progress to next level

Controls
- Use A and D to go left and right
- Both keys to deploy shield

Gameplay
- Collect bales to grow the cow until it is big enough to use the escape teleporter
- Don't get hit by enemies or you will shrink again
- Meteor impacts will grow the planet and its core
- Warning: The bigger the planet, the more unstable it gets!

Theme:
- "Two button controls": A and D
- "Growing": Cow grows with pickup and level progress, planet on meteor impact until it explodes!

Used Technologies:
- libGDX
- Ashley

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#127Overall(Jam)3.80
#137Fun(Jam)3.69
#205Graphics(Jam)4.03
#225Theme(Jam)4.00
#255Humor(Jam)3.17
#310Mood(Jam)3.47
#346Audio(Jam)3.32
#542Innovation(Jam)3.11

Comments

Verrazano says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Excellent and solid game. I was a little confused on what caused me to lose, whether it was getting hit or the planet being destroyed? Good music too!

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Very nice! Graphics is ok, audio is good.

MestreRothWP says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Excellent graphics and game. Congrats to the team.
I'd like a way to move quicker, like a dash (on quick double press button) or alike, but it fits well for a less difficult game.
You'll probably receive top ratings for this.

gabriel_pnc says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Good Job

Hegemege says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Simple and cute, I liked it! The game is really RNG heavy, and you are forced to lose due to all the running and meteors :( made it to lvl 11 though.

wilsk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Fun game. It took me a while to work out the little red pad wasn't a pool of lava. I'm a sucker for a circular world.

dos says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Moo!

edgeofcode says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:14am

Really fun game. I especially liked the cow animation!

Zetym says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Nice game, a little repetitive after a while though.
The red, pointy things that spawned upon you and the super fast meteorites felt unfair as there was no way to notice them and try to do something about them before they hit you, meaning unavoidable damage.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:12pm

This is a surprisingly well polished game for a game jam.

jachepe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:13pm

great game in all aspects!

Blobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:13pm

The game felt really trollish when spawning enemies below you. other than that, nice concept.

Multiplexor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:14pm

The cow looks fantastic! And the game mechanics are cool! Maybe a bit too easy at the beginning :P Keep up the good work people!

zguerrero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:29pm

cool game overall, graphics, controls sounds everything is good!

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:46pm

I never noticed the core growing until I re-read the instructions here. Cool idea!

Akhera says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Not very innovative, but the gameplay is solid and the controls are nicely implemented. The graphics and audio are nice too.

Also, is that a spherical cow in a vacuum? I thought they were just hypothetical.

emmes says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:33am

Awesome, I love the graphics and the theme! Cool hero :-)

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:30am

Great presentation, with a unique visual style for the character and the world itself. As a player, I wish there were more I could do to stop meteors from hitting the planet -- maybe if double tapping a direction made the character sprint? Anyway, really fun to play -- great job!

By the way, if I understood the credits right and you didn't make the music, you may want to opt out of the Audio category.

concalf says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:43am

Sadly there are no extra categories for music and effects - (and in terms of missing categories graphics and aesthetics:( )

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Fantastic game. It gets intense after a while!

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:19am

Good work. cool audio and excellent playability. Good done!

Smirnov48 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:45am

Very fun and simple! I liked it! Sometimes meteors move too quickly, and you can't apply shield.

Shurty says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Very nice Animation. I liked the gameplay (not so innovative, yet very solid !) good job

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]