Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Always A Bigger Fish

by rantt - Compo Entry

It's a fish eat fish world.
Eat the green fish to grow bigger, orange fish won't hurt you (and you can't eat them...yet) and red fish will kill you.

Controls:
W,A,S - move forward, turn left, turn right
arrow up, left, right - move forward, turn left, turn right

or use the pointer, click to move to that spot

Tools Used:
coding: vim/tmux and Phaser.js for my framework
graphics: Pixly, Pixen and Pixelmator
sfx: sfxr/bfxr
music: PixiTracker

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#131Fun3.68
#272Theme3.97
#278Audio3.09
#304Humor2.76
#446Overall3.28
#468Mood2.97
#640Graphics2.81
#820Innovation2.50

Comments

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:18am

Nice work on your game! I like how you incorporated the "Growing" theme into this. I also liked the sound and such (although it seems to cut off and stop playing once you beat a level or two). Other than that, really good stuff. :)

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:45am

I feel like the "fish eat fish now get bigger" games I played on Flash portals as a kid were slow and boring. This is much faster, quicker, and more interesting!

You get a GitHub star too. ;P

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:17am

Good job on the game. Felt like Osmos at times. Game had minor issues with screen edges. But still fun.

danieldsj says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:23am

Pretty good Osmos clone! Well done!

ThaRemo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:32am

Nice game! I liked the simplicity, but it was a little short.

laFunk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:25pm

That Jaws theme remix! The way the fish swim is pretty humorous :) I didn't like how they seem to gather on the screen borders but it's a fun game. Cheers!

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Super simple classic game, but it's fun! The fish colouring was a nice touch and helped understand which ones you can eat and which ones you can't eat. :)

Emkiusz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Nice little game :D Too bad the music is so short :P

kailijan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Great game! Really like it.

hexagore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:58pm

This is really effectively done. Took me a while to realise I could aim with the mouse though.. but once I did I had a lot of fun with this. Thanks.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Not too exciting but well executed!
very fluid gameplay ;p

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Nice fishy clone, the movement mostly works well and the mechanics seem well figured-out. Found the music sort of jarring, but fairly funky. Nice work!

pparke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Good gameplay, levels increased in difficulty nicely and the control of the fish was solid and easy to pick up.

hcosta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:21am

This is a nice balanced game covering the two themes, good job!

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:50am

Good game, a bit short and some more variety would have been great

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:45am

Nice and smooth, I liked how the fish became edible as I got bigger, made evident by the colour change.
I died in the corners a few times thanks to the wrapping... Thought "I'm fine, I'm on the opposite side from the red fish", then I died...

psychonull says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Great game. Really fun to play. Nice grahipcs also. Good job!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Nice little growing game.
What I liked most is exactly what my own game is missing - you made levels. It starts easy and not with all mechanics at once.
In hindsight that's what I should have done with my sheep.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:11am

Nice job! I really like the responsiveness of the fish, and the music was really nice too (i love midi)! If you make the "world" a bit more alive (animation, physics?) it would be awesome!

LoneStranger says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:24am

Fun game. Well done. Loved the music and the sprites. Pointer controls made it a little difficult with the sides. Some of those bigger fish swam at me faster than I could get my bearings on a new level.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:31am

Haven't personally played a puzzle-feeding game, usually they're more sandboxxy so I like the change of pace.

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Nice and snappy game. Good awesome-per-second in this, I think the difficulty ramped well, and I liked the short levels. I thought it was mouse only (with mouse-pad) which was slightly awkward, but then I realized that I of course could play it with the keyboard. Could have been interesting with some harder levels at the end.

All in all. Well done, I enjoyed it :)

kepons says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Not exactly anything new, but it was quite fun and I liked the music.

ruerob says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Your game is really fun to play! Sadly a bit short! Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]