Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Santa Rush

by Dohxis - Jam Entry

Santa Rush is a game made for Ludum Dare 34 by Ainoraz, Dohxis and edve98.

Controlls:
Z - go left
X - jump

Description:
In this game you must deliver presents to igloos as fast as possible. Good luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#508Audio(Jam)3.02
#704Theme(Jam)3.46
#870Overall(Jam)2.90
#896Fun(Jam)2.64

Comments

bitowl says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:11pm

those graphics are cute :3

Oski says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:59pm

Good graphics.

UntitledQ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Somewhat frustrating :/

CalmKai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Very hard!

vinipereira says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:28pm

It was quite diffcult to read that the crystal was dangerous at all... So I died alot :D

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Nice running animation, great christmas game!

r8berto says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Interesting controls but It is very hard IMO

Taldius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:28pm

I've won! 105 sec!
Nice little game, but the controls and the levels are really hard.

Warboys says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:26pm

Super duper hard. I really like the graphics but I couldn't get too much into the gameplay because of the difficulty! :(

bessdlan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:21pm

our game is also a Santa running game XD
I like the graphics but it's a little too difficult :x
good job ;)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:28pm

Nice little game but I agree the controls are very difficult and somewhat floaty. Good effort nevertheless!

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Nice challenge. And well done sticking with 2 buttons.

Catblocker says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Nice game with extraordinary graphics!
One thing that bugged me thought was that... Lets say you are "standing " completly still by walking in to a wall. Then when you jump and the character can move right again he does so with full speed. He doesn't have to accelerate like he have to when you make the character stand still by pressing Z.

And btw, you probably should had made it so you could vote for graphics on your game!

Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Cute two button controls, but arrgh. The level design is sooooo harsh. Some warm-up please!

StrehFox says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Cute, but really difficult. Hitboxes could use some work.

WakeOfLuna says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 7:24pm

That was actually fun! Hard learning curve but then it all works. ...though at some point I fell through the crystals and through the floor and walked all the way to the end of the map. Didn't finish the map though :')

Markus Brand says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:24pm

Verry hard first level. It takes some time to get used to the controls but once I was there, I really liked it!

Xanjos says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:12pm

I like the graphics but the game itself is frustratingly difficult to play because of the jump arc and sometimes the button to go left is a bit unresponsive.

nosfer says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 4:53pm

argh!!! infuriating :) took me some time to take used to controls and discover I can change direction/speed only after first jump :)

Jan 2, 2016 @ 6:23pm

First level is realy too hard in comparaison of the others...

It's bad that the timer does not reset when you lose, just give the global time but after 25 fail in lvl 1, me almost perfect runs for lvl 2 and 3 not count at all. :'(

Was fun anyway :)

flakoflak says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 6:42pm

a little too difficult at the beginning but after some practice all good :)

Stending says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 8:00pm

No rating for graphics? That was pretty awesome!
Nice game, not so hard in my opinion!

Pantoufle says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 9:28pm

Nice graphics and music. The gameplay is interesting. The web version is quite slow on my machine.
Great work!

Brightstar says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:23pm

Simple game appealing graphics I like it.

_benhumphries says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:50pm

When I click the web link all I get is a black screen. :/ Looks from the comments like it's a problem with my computer but I'm not sure.

anv says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:54pm

Nice graphics, but controls need improvement. IMO it would work better if Z instantly changed Santa's direction instead of deccelerating/stopping him first.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]