Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Defuser 4000

by Hjalte500 - Jam Entry

CONTROLS
LMB to interact
RMB to move.

You play as a janitor/office worker diffusing bombs with instructions over the phone.

This is a game about disarming bombs. It's very inspired by 80s/90s action movies with all their cheesy goodness.

*BUGS* There's a bit of a bug where things dont react to you clicks. Move them around a bit and it should fix it self.
Cursor turns into greyish square instead of hand when in full screen mode.

Tools:
Unity
Visual Studio
PhotoShop
Adobe Audition
Skype

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#96Fun(Jam)3.77
#97Mood(Jam)3.89
#114Innovation(Jam)3.76
#117Humor(Jam)3.63
#181Overall(Jam)3.71
#241Graphics(Jam)3.95
#290Audio(Jam)3.42
#875Theme(Jam)3.14
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:19am

Awesome idea! :D

ElliotFiske says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:25am

You should stick this in a .zip; I'm sure I just need to get WinRAR or something but it'd be handy to not go through that.

RhysD says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:28am

Great work! Love the interactions involved here. Had a bit of trouble clicking some things and didn't really understand the battery charging part. Apart from that, it was awesome. Would make a cool game involving McGuyver defusing using some rubber bands or something :D

piper82 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:32am

super fun game but plagued with cursor bugs. rating highly and really would like to see bug fixed.

ElliotFiske says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:46am

Got it unzipped, but the cursor thing kinda defeated me... I can't seem to make any progress or state changes...

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:56am

There were a lot of things that were great about this game. I love the graphics. They remind a bit of Gunpoint in a way. I also love the audio. But there are a lot of cursor bugs that make the game hard, and it is confusing to know what to do sometimes. With more work though, I think this could be a fun little game. Good work!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:02am

very fun game~! great mechanics, although the click bug is quite annoying~ but great game!

chriiis88 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:53am

Fantastic idea, love it. If I had to criticize one thing it would be the akward control of the voltmeter. Clicking the handle and rotating the mouse would have been better a better choice, in my opinion.

Allthebees says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:59am

Awesome game, had a lot of fun, the artstyle is amazing, and most of the mechanics are great, and there's a lot of polish :)

Mar 27, 2016 @ 11:41pm

Very fun, well made game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/kf34--PMGMs

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]