Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Barbarians with Cannons

by hunttis - Jam Entry

Aim your cannon true, watch out for the opposing army. If they reach your village, they will burn it!

You can try to shoot the hostile army or the enemy village, but only after one village is destroyed, will a winner be known.

Left arrow aims left, Right arrow aims right, Hold both down to charge cannon. (Two button controls! :D)

Made by Hunttis (Ville Nuutinen)
and Katis (Joni Katajamäki)

Musics are by Kukko (Ville Peurala), made for the Mini Ludum Dare that was just now.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#464Fun(Jam)3.21
#548Overall(Jam)3.29
#679Humor(Jam)2.33
#691Theme(Jam)3.48
#760Mood(Jam)2.89
#770Graphics(Jam)2.93
#799Innovation(Jam)2.70

Comments

Knowledge says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Cool game, would like to see post-Jam version.

Niphram says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:37pm

nice little game

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Love the gameplay.

LoneStranger says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Fun, interesting game. The back-and-forth turn thing was a bit distracting, however I do like it as an idea, so maybe it just needs tweaking. Maybe instead of a pause, it just slows for a few seconds? That way the game doesn't halt, but there is still time for a reaction. Anyway, it's an interesting thing to ponder. Good job!

Lancelot Gao says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:41am

Good job!

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Reminds me of the good ol' days playing Pocket Tanks and such! It looks good too :) Nice work and good luck!

KanedaXIII says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:38am

Good game, reminds me of some classic games I like a lot

phi says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:46am

I love the idea that you can shoot before the other player's projectile has landed, it's a nice touch to a familiar concept! Also, I like the little animations between the turns, makes the game feel very smooth and appealing, even though the graphics aren't very polished after all.
Great game overall, thanks for making it!

hunttis says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:53am

Cheers for the comments, graphics are pure coder graphics!

Was pretty happy with how the moon turned out. Was really unhappy with how the sun turned out :D

You can try to shoot the opposing player's ammo from the air too!

The reason we decided to stop time completely was because the barbarians move when the time is running. The army will destroy the opposing village if they reach it. That would allow you to win by doing nothing if you've fired a lucky shot destroying most of the opposing army!

markusfisch says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:36am

The running armies are a really nice touch! It's pretty good fun for two players! Also, I like that the bullets stop mid-air when your turn is up. Definitely some fresh ideas!

Wir says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 12:42pm

I liked how you could destroy the other canon shots

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:31pm

This game is awesome, but short. Something I found interesting is that you can blow up the other bullet with your own before it hits you. Cool Idea

psychonull says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 3:18am

Nice entry, great job!

SusanTheCat says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:40pm

Awesome soundtrack.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:50am

great work

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]