Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Christmas Eve Late Delivery Service

by ajopart - Compo Entry

No time to explain. I still have plenty of gifts to deliver before tomorrow.
It's a race against the sun. Help me make the Christmas Eve last forever to have time to deliver the gifts around the world.

Theme : "Two Button Controls".

- Use A and d keys to move Left and right
- Double press to drop gifts : A key drops green gifts, D key drop red gifts.
- Drop green gifts on green target, red gifts on red target to win.
- avoid the clouds
- press A and D to ignite the boost.
- stay ahead of the sun using your boost

UPDATE :

Thanks to the early player for their feedback.
- I fixed some minor bugs (reset static variables)
- I change some text to make the intro clearer

/// Best version : Windows ///
/// WEBGL : please put the game in full screen to enable the keyboard ///

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#171Humor3.15
#504Audio2.59
#569Mood2.84
#581Graphics2.92
#629Innovation2.90
#692Theme3.44
#754Overall2.92
#806Fun2.62

Comments

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:22am

It does not run, error is:
There should be 'CELDS-LD34v02_Data'
folder next to the executable

daleth90 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Oh, you should upload the whole folder.
Include the "xxxx_Data" folder and .exe

Pete_H says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:46pm

+1 for no data folder :(

ajopart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Thanks Guys. Problem solved. Damned data folder. No Excuse

vogon101 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Cool idea but the audio really let it down. The voice was too loud imo

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:15pm

FYI Worked for me. That said, dropping presents seemed to be a bit buggy/difficult, also i seemed to have a hard time getting into the tutorial, it kept auto skipping it, so at first i had a hard time figuring out how to drop presents.

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Holy cock what just happened.


Odd game. The voice acting over the simple music was wonderful. The game wasn't particularly fun, and I don't really think I "got it", but played for about ten minutes while laughing at everything that was happening and having no clue.
A great game for stoners on christmas, yes.

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Also I'll add.
a) If you're using unity you should make a web build, that helps a lot.
b) This is a compo entry, you need to share your source

ajopart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Ha. I thought the intro was clear enough. I put more info in the game description. Thanks for your feedback

Pete_H says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Worth playing for the one voice sample about a large online retailer :D

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:27pm

the game loaded for me, but i couldnt move the character, it just ran straight into the ice rock things.

MHaton says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:30pm

The English is pretty dodgy, but no hate for that if it's not your primary language (which it's clearly not). I really like the way the world looks beneath you and the stylised sleigh :) The music did drive me moderately insane and the voice clips were perhaps a bit excessive happening every time, but I liked the concept and I'm regretting not doing a Christmas game myself now!

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:33pm

It is a bit strange, but I love the audio, there were way too many clouds though, I got 259.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Nice and innovative game. It is really addictive, so much that I don't want to stop playing it.

-SPiRiT- says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:12pm

A quite good game! It is a little bit hard, but fun. The audio is the bad point, i think.
There is humor, and I like it x)

Zeriver says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Fun game, celver use of two buttons. Hah, and nice work with santa voice :D

NoradZero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:18am

Nice the audio lol Great game!

Frenchie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:16am

"Screw you Amazon!" - I lol'ed

Nice game! My one critique is that you were a little unforgiving with the hitboxes for the clouds :(

parias001 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:30pm

I loved it! It was a really nice game and that "Screw you amazon!" made me laugh a lot!

tobia88 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Nice combination for combine two buttons with christmas theme, great job!

Didi says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Great mechanic

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Nice job! Great humor!

beetracks says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:47am

Very good idea. I loved! And nice solution for the sound effects. It added a nice touch of humor to the game. Hahaha, good job!

VladRusu says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:00am

Interesting idea. A bit slow paced if you asked me. Some of the targets are impossible to hit. Humor is a nice point tho. Good job!

Gins says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Awesome sound effects :)
The controls for the baggage drop-off feel a bit unresponsive and sometimes it didn't register double taps properly, but it's a fun high score hunt game :)

deadpixl says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Hmm controls didn't work for me. no matter what I tried.

danidre14 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Really slow and hard to hit the targets. Also, they take too long to appear, so it seems boring. Beware, this is the web version, so a download might run smoother! :D

Nice graphics, though.

Manu & Wan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:22am

The controls didn't work for me on the WebGL version, so I fellback to the Windows build.

Best score is 524! There are some good ideas, among them that's a detail but I especially liked the "3D UI" where lines and text pass by, the yellow "Record" line being a nice touch.

The gameplay itself is a bit confusing, especially since I don't have much feedback on whether I managed to reach the target or not.

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:30pm

very nice atmosphere being up there in the clouds!

i think the controls were a bit wonky, the 'D' key didn't alwasy seem to work, but other than that it was fine.

I liked the simplistic graphics, and overall it was a nice short game that was pretty fun. Nice job for 48 hours :)

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:26pm

I can't really play this game, you have to fix the light of game because it is impossible (at least for me) to see the color of gifts I have to deliver. I liked your idea to mix the Christmas with the jam. Nice job, man!

xhunterko says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Good take on the theme! Controls were a little difficult to decipher but I got it eventually. Not bad!

Big Cow says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:19pm

Good take of two button theme. Fun concept and a sense of humour with all the audio samples. Well done!

publicidadeba says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:50pm

Just played it. It has good xmas vibe to it and a nice use of both theme (growing the number of gifts and the obvious two button use). Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]