Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growth

by supajackle - Jam Entry

EPILEPSY WARNING THERES LOTS OF FLASHING COLORS
Growth is a weird game where you eat things
X- moves the hand
C- reach out and grab

M and S- mute music and sound

game by Kyle Templeton @supajackle
music by @twabbis

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2373Coolness10%

Comments

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:54am

I like the twist at the end! Also, how the themes of the icons change as you grow "older".

Sink says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:43am

this was really nice and cool the art was really nice i like how you approached ending the game. you did good i love you

Mr. says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Very surreal. There doesn't seem to be any challenge to it, but I was playing just to see what would happen next and that's a good sign. It's cool to see that you used both themes.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:13am

This is a really fantastic self-contained little experience! I like it. My only suggestion: when you hit "grab" again without turning, it resets the position of the hand to 0 degrees. It felt a little jarring the few times I tried to grab in quick succession. Nice work!

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:20pm

A strange one. I like how everything gets smaller as you grow. Music is fittingly creepy.

YinYin says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:03pm

It's weird how the hands default to horizontal if you mash the button.

Also the double hands failed to work on the first loop, so I only went from one to four.

thristhart says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:05am

I came here from your twitter where you promised a tiny and weird game and you delivered in full. I love the mood and the way this game is very self contained - it's not aspiring to be more than it is, it just is. Love it!

BoredOfYou says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:30am

Well... okay then..

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]