Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Adder & Squoji: Daily Grind

by Gunzil - Jam Entry

Help Adder & Squoji deal with a hectic workday.

All inputs are through the Left and Right arrow keys.

If you're having issues clicking the reset button you can press up instead. You can start the game by pressing right or left as well.

Programming - Paul 'Gunzil' Harju
Artwork - Catherine 'TheBrigand' Stafford
Music by Relix on FreeMusicArchive.org

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#142Humor(Jam)3.55
#174Overall(Jam)3.72
#181Mood(Jam)3.67
#207Fun(Jam)3.56
#349Innovation(Jam)3.36
#541Theme(Jam)3.64
#580Graphics(Jam)3.32

Comments

Jaggler3 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:46am

I love it!

sichevoid says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Could not run the web version :( Reports "Download failed"

Taldius says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Really nice entry! The graphics, despite looking simple, are finally really cute with all the animations. Also the gameplay is good by being both simple and addictive.
Finally, having a little story is a plus.
Excellent work!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:17pm

nice idea

Skruffye says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:27am

Ooh, heavily reminds me of the combat systems in the Paper Mario and M&L series (which I loved)!
All the art and animation was very smooth and the game was getting quite challenging by the end.
Unfortunately, I can't see the game being very expandable, but as it stands, it was a fun five minutes. :)
Also, interesting use of emoticons to convey the protagonists' feelings instead of words.
Overall, good job! :D

PickleCrew says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:40am

.(^_^)/\['.'].
Good job on the game guy, I finished both endings, love it!

richardboegli says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:43am

This is great! You should make another game using the same characters, music and art style, but just make it coop a platformer.

The two button control works fine for this gamejam, but what you have already could be used for so much more!

Adder & Squoji - Daily Grind 2 (For the 2d version) :)

Multiplexor says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:57am

I loove it!! The art and dialogues are extremely cute! Also the gameplay is fun and challenging! Lovely game! Keep up this wonderful work!


PD: Why

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:00am

Very nice. Good looking and funny. Funny how it has exactly the same structrure as our game, but different mechanics.

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:26am

I really enjoyed the simple charm of the game. The story and visuals were cute, and kept me playing, and the gameplay made good use of the two button restriction. One thing I noticed was that you could just press both buttons, and you would land in time to dodge the next guy, so you didn't really have to predict or react to which way the enemies were going. This can be easily remedied through changing the timing of the enemies though. Good entry!

Efuvex says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:36am

They're adorable

themadknights says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:27am

Looks great! The graphic style is very cool! It reminds me a lot to Paper Mario series. Great work!

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:51am

Funny game! I really liked the smoothness of the attacks, but I feel like the game becomes very easy if you just press both buttons. Overall, cool entry!

akirassasin says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:25am

SO FUN!!

Lythom says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:37am

Hi !

What I liked :
- Overall realisation
- The story telling
- Universe consistency

What imo could be improved :
- more variety in enemy patterns, the difficulty here comes with fastest enemies creating the need for faster reactions. I'd have prefered more pattern to learn to decrease the reflex skill need in favor of strategy skill.
- 2 buttons ? I actually only needed to press both at the same time to complete the game, was much easier =) could be fixed with some more desynchronized pattern between left and right.
- Graphics (the drawing style is absolutely fine, but the image composition, the texturing, and the colors can be improved)

Excellent overall, I enjoyed the game, keep doing great stuff =)

Gunzil says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 3:24am

Thanks for all the feedback! It is much appreciated :)

Being able to have both characters jump all the time is definitely a problem. Finding ways to make it so you need to only pick the correct character would help. Jumping on the wrong character would cause damage due to an attack going above them, for example.

I'm surprised nobody commented on the non-boss, there was going to be an actual fight originally!

seurimas says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:43am

Very cute. The attack patterns had a nice progression and the controls were well communicated. I feel like everything fit pretty well. The only issue I had was that I seemed to lose lives randomly with no hit animation, but it didn't even get in the way.

TheWzzard says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:05pm

loved the overall look and presentation, gameplay was kind of shallow

anv says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:01pm

Gameplay makes very good use of the theme and everything feels very smooth. Character graphics style is very cool too. Only things standing out as inconsistent are bubble speech graphics and fonts.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]