Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Garden of Bees

by mokesmoe - Compo Entry

I was just growing some plants and bees started showing up? They're pretty helpful though so I'm not complaining.

Controls:
Left/Right Arrows: Walk
Up/Down Arrows: Climb/Aim
C: Place Scaffolding (hold to preview)
X: Remove Scaffolding/Break leaves (hold to preview)
C+X: Cancel

You can also use WASD+KL or an Xbox controller (Left Stick/D-pad + A + X)


Once you have figured out how everything works together you will be able to ride a bee.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#124Overall3.76
#125Theme4.14
#129Innovation3.77
#151Mood3.53
#216Graphics3.64
#235Humor2.93
#249Fun3.48
#1611Coolness44%

Comments

vhaugan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:29pm

That was really fun, although the game lacked a bike.

Ampera says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Fun game.

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:17am

Actually really cool. Unfortunately I couldn't figure out how to get the lasers or stuff in your screenshots, or how to ride a bee, but it's a really charming game.

Also I recognize you from tigsource!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:25am

What a neat little experience! I like how it was about exploration and understanding. It took a while, but I finally rode a bee! great work!

uthamon says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Beautiful and peaceful game, very relaxing too.

beetracks says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:15am

Interesting concept, nice use of theme, but no sound. It would be awesome to have some sfx or a music to create a mood. It could have some hints of how to play too. Other than that, good job. The pixel art is cool.

scorched says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Cute! Understood how to summon bees, but still can't ride :(

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:20pm

I liked this simple but quite enjoyable game

purrpurr says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 2:09pm

I ended up playing around with it for a while and found little by complete accident. Did enjoy playing it though. Even though I got nowhere, the game looks and plays great and really keeps you in there for a while.
Still having no idea how the game worked, I kind of cheated a little by looking at the source. This game really has intricacies lost to its mystery. Not saying that's a bad thing. To me it was this appeal that kept me playing. Just sensing that a lot of ppl will miss out by not riding a bee. Great entry!

Skaz says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:46am

Spent longer than I expected growing my giant tree!

Tapehead says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 12:50pm

cool idea! :)

ninos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:17pm

Really like it, nice idea :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]