Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Lawn Grower

by sez - Jam Entry

I made this entry in roughly 4 to 5 hours.
I didn't had the time so I started reaaaly late.

Next time I will do a proper jam. Sorry if you have to judgy it.

-=- Lawn Grower -=-

Find the apple, score points. Avoid the boulder, it kills you.
Mow the grass if you can't find the apple.

I did both themes: you control with lef and right arrow keys.

EDIT - Please dont download the game as it doesn't work and I cannot find the time to fix things. sorry!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2311Coolness14%

Comments

Silvio says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:59pm

unfortunately it crashes :(

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Yeah, I got a crash too. :(

sez says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:56pm

I am sorry!
It works perfectly fine in the editor, but the builds keep crashing. No compiling errors, so I don't know what I can do to fix it.

Si1ver says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:21pm

Yep, it's crashing.
Can you try making 32 bit build?

tribrain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Crashing every time i try to play it

Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Got crashes too. Here's the report (the relevant part of it):

IndexOutOfRangeException: Array index is out of range.
at GrassTile.UpdateGrowth () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0

at GrassTile.OnTriggerEnter (UnityEngine.Collider col) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0

Hope you manage to fix it, cheers!

Fartenko says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:50pm

It crashes ;(

luysse_l says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:41pm

very nice graphics

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:16pm

tried running the game, but it keeps crashing. The game looks promising tho

Rex Peppers says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:08pm

Can't play windows games

ciaodavinci says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:22pm

I had a crash just like others reporting.. this is ther error message I found:

Platform assembly: C:\Users\peter_000\Desktop\LAWNGROWER_Build_win_64 2\LAWNGROWER_Build_win_64_Data\Managed\System.dll (this message is harmless)
IndexOutOfRangeException: Array index is out of range.
at GrassTile.UpdateGrowth () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0

at GrassTile.OnTriggerEnter (UnityEngine.Collider col) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0

(Filename: Line: -1)

IndexOutOfRangeException: Array index is out of range.
at GrassTile.UpdateGrowth () [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0

at GrassTile.OnTriggerEnter (UnityEngine.Collider col) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0

(Filename: Line: -1)

Crash!!!
SymInit: Symbol-SearchPath: '.;C:\Users\peter_000\Desktop\LAWNGROWER_Build_win_64 2;C:\Users\peter_000\Desktop\LAWNGROWER_Build_win_64 2;C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\system32;SRV*C:\websymbols*http://msdl.microsoft.com/download/symbols;', symOptions: 530, UserName: 'peter_000'
OS-Version: 10.0.10586 () 0x300-0x1

beastletsplay says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:59am

It crashes :(

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]