Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Stem

by Yamzho - Compo Entry

STEM
--------------------------------

Here's my entry for LD34 ! I tried to comply with both themes, so you control with two buttons a plant that you need to grow as far as you can. You need to collect water, light and fertilizers and, at the same time, avoid bugs, clouds, fire and snow.

Some little insights :
- The lower your light level is, the slower you go.
- The lower your fertilizers level is, the harder it is to steer.

Also, I'm sad I could not find time to add some sounds to the game (I lost three and a half hours trying to find a game breaking bug).

I hope you'll love my game ! Have fun ! ;)

--------------------------------

Controls :
Left and right arrows to steer.
R to restart.
Esc to quit.

--------------------------------

Post-compo updates :
- Difficulty balanced. It is (a bit) harder now.
- Steering is now determined by your water level
- Your "maximum growth angle" is now determined by your light level.
- Your growth speed is now determined by your nutriments level.
- The game window is now 1280*720 instead of 800*600.

More post-compo versions to come. Please rate the initial release only to be fair to others. Follow me on Twitter (@yamzho).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#136Graphics3.88
#157Theme4.10
#468Mood2.97
#491Overall3.22
#548Innovation3.05
#633Fun2.95

Comments

Afendar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Yeh Yamzho !!! Good game :). Graphics are simple, without the end of bug is better. Animations are good but pity that there have no sound. Great job guy ;)

Somnium says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Fun game!

I especially like how the different stats and obstacles tie into the game mechanics.

The graphics and UI are effective as well.

Great take on the themes!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Loved this game! I have a very high liking to the stile of the graphics, and the game is very fun and interesting!

rockford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:48pm

So cute. Miss some challenge at a time, but very good idea and stick to the both themes! tks

dmecke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Nice idea well made into a game!
At first I found it very easy and it took a while that I found out that it actually increases in difficulty (it does, right?). An idea could be to split it up into several levels. Each level could introduce a new concept (item, good or bad) so the user gets continuously new content and and the game keeps interesting longer ("what else is here to see?") as well as it is easier to understand what all the items do.

ccglp says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:50pm

1570cm. 13/10 would grow again.

It's a great game, maybe with a relaxing background sound and a little tweaks here and there you would have a complete game!

Akhera says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Good concept with nice art, but does the difficulty increase at all? If it does it's way too slowly. I had to lose on purpose to end it. Having a score counter during play would be nice too.

Yamzho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Thanks all for the comments.

Yes, the game could have been harder, so I released a post-compo version which is.

I'll also probably release more post-compo versions, including the ideas I find interesting !

Finally, as said in the description, please rate the initial release only to be fair to the other contestants ! :)

Have fun and try as many games as you can !

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:03pm

This is great! The intro is very well done as are the animations, and the concept is pretty neat. Shame that there's no sound, but I really like it.

MicroMacro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:18pm

I would have loved to run this, but every time I try to play it, it gives me a Java exception. :\

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:18pm

The graphics are very smooth, and I like the stem with the little leafs and thorns. I only played the compo versions as that is the one I'm rating, 't was easy

JohnGalt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Interesting system with 3 different attribute. Neat arts. I enjoy it a lot.

VascoF says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Looks really nice, but is a bit too easy.

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Hi, another similar game to mine, but on a different path :) I guess I am not the original thinker I thought I was!

I liked the style you chose everything stood out really nicely graphically. I think it needed some sort of evolution to it, not necessarily a difficulty spike just something you are growing to!

sharpfrog4 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Cute!

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Nice game, good graphics and nice controls. I wish it got faster sooner, but nice job!

grama says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:51pm

loved the game. cool mechanics, nice visuals. it had some lag issues for me, but great entry. cheers!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:23pm

I love the graphics and really addicting gameplay :)

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Good game, gets old really fast.

batmanasb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:31am

The game is very shaky, hurts to look at

Ingon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:45am

Nice game, simple idea, good implementation.

A bit slow though, maybe some of the enemies could be faster/targeted?

SirSoltex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:24am

Great game! love how the intro explains things as you play the game.

CremaGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:13pm

Loved it. Wish it were a little more difficult? I don't know, but I like the minimalistic graphics and the good concept. Congrats!

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:42pm

Cool stuff. Simple gameplay, but it works well, and keeping an eye on all the stats adds some flavour to it. Great graphical style.

MisterMortal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Fun little game, love the clean simple graphics. It would be perfect mobile game ;)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Great mechanic that's easy to understand from the start. Love the minimalist look. Found myself playing for a long time!

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Nice little game. 1775 cm! :D

gogo199432 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Interesting game, fun for the first few minutes. After that it kind of drops :D The graphics were nice :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:08pm

The games nice and look great but lacks replayability, which I assume is what you were going for having a score.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Among the growing plant games this is one of the most fun to play. However the challenge is a bit low and there could be some kind of timer or points that grow over time so the player knows he's doing good.

Dejvo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Very nice game. superb presentation, cool idea and great concept. apply a bit of polish, add more features (like the plant would grow flowers depending on nutrition you've given it), and it'll be a good full fun game :)

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Lovely art style. At first I thought it was easy, but as I said that, it started getting harder lol. I could imagine simple, care-free music being used in this game.

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Ahh i liked this game i admit was a shame there wasnt any audio but it was still a good game and glad u sorted the bug out so we could play it :D

Well Done!

Peekotus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:13am

Really cool game but no sound :(

banana4life says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:09pm

I think with background music it would be better.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Too bad there's no sound but I like the idea plus I love how well you've incorporated both themes into the game.

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:36pm

Simple and effective idea, I like the choice of very simple and flat graphics, thet look pretty good. It lacks some sound effects, and gets a bit boring and repetitive after a while as the difficulty doesn't seem to inscrease (or maybe it does, but way too slowly to be noticed or challenging), and there is not a lot of evolution going on.

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:42pm

After reading the comments I gave it a second try, and there is indeed a little inscrease of difficulty. But I still think it evolves too slowly to stay interesting

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:29am

I liked the visuals, and it was very clear what was good and bad. I thought it would be like snake where i could go back on myself, and I found that there was some limit to how far I could turn left and right.

I couldn't determine what the win condition was. I grew to about 1 meter and then let the controls go. I kept growing and eventually died, but I wonder if the game is too easy.

Overall I hope you continue to work on this project.

mar3k says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:37pm

Simple, yet fun and relaxing game.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Very simple, but well made. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/l1a-s63Ve1s

Zanzlanz says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:41pm

Impressive work with the thoughtful interface and game design! It seemed to progress a bit too slow for my taste, but I did appreciate the way in which the health and difficulty worked. Awesome job!

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:48pm

The starting menu is so beautiful that I would use it as desktop background hahaha I like the plant animations. I wish some more originality were added to the game design of there was some sound feedback.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]