Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Super 'Christmas Tree' Tycoon

by Conk - Compo Entry

Super 'Christmas Tree' Tycoon is game about growing Christmas trees, how wonderful! The fabulous Christmas spirit, one would say. Not me though.

This game is satire, it was a laugh to make (that's a lie, it was hell, why would anyone make a resource management game in 2 days?!) and it turned out, kind of finished, and by that I mean, not at all how I want it to be as most of the systems are incomplete and a little buggy... But ... let's focus on the positives.

The goal is to essentially make money, grow your lovely little 'Christmas trees' and sell the produce to your de... customers, the only way to lose is to run out of money, which I can't see happening... I had intended to have a system where cops would try and arrest you and you had to like, do things to avoid it etc...

Controls are pretty simple, pretty much just left click things, navigate around the phone, not much their, but might be a little confusing.

I hope my game doesn't offend you and that you see the comedy I was attempting at,

Cheers!

I'll come back tomorrow to try get the web version up.

EDIT: Just an extra bit of info, best growing potential is when the trees stats are green, this is around 30 for temp and 40 for water. The green button in the plant info screen will harvest the plant after it's grown a certain amount (quite vague) and light increases temp, open windows/watering to decrease it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#83Humor3.56
#107Audio3.61
#154Mood3.52
#287Innovation3.46
#317Theme3.92
#339Graphics3.36
#345Overall3.40
#653Fun2.92

Comments

Shivur says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:25am

Funny concept.

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Funny take on the theme 'Growing' haha! Really well done, also the music creates a nice atmosphere.

Vertigon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Super clever concept. Had some trouble getting going (growing?) but nice package overall.

Pusty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Haha :D nice one! I just don't know how to harvest xD
nice graphics and audio as well.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Neat idea! Good execution!
The music was quite lovely, too.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:23pm

I couldn't work out when to harvest my "christmas tree", there's no feedback to the user when something is ready.

Conk says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:17pm

@speciesUnknown That's because I ran out of time, there were just too many features

bwatanabe says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 1:31am

I played this for quite a while and really enjoyed it, although I was never able to harvest. I was unsure when I could...

anv says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:17pm

Very nice concept. UI could use some streamlining (like selecting your "Christmas trees" just by clicking on it, without going into info tab on your phone first). Could also use some visual feedback on "trees" condition, like drying out when unwatered without checking stat bars.

MorganLeFay says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:33pm

I had the same problems as other players with collecting from my trees. Also what are the contacts in the phone supposed to do? I really enjoyed the music and sound and I like your art as well.

Conk says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:38pm

@MorganLeFay Yeah, the game suffers from a large amount of unfinished features. The messaging system was going to make the door system a bit more complex, making sure you don't answer the door to a cop, build up trust and such.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]