Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Last Chance To Green

by Four Quarters - Jam Entry

Uploading in a last minute is a tradition for us now, no matter how big or small the game is.

We've decided to take the challenge and do both themes simultaneously, so here it is.
This game about gardening, old slow computers and radioactive caterpillars.

All music, art and code was made during Ludum, specifically for the game.

Made by Four Quarters team, contact with us - blinchik116@mail.ru

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Mood(Jam)4.67
Graphics(Jam)4.86
Coolness73%
Theme(Jam)4.70
#5Audio(Jam)4.51
#8Overall(Jam)4.32
#74Innovation(Jam)3.87
#111Fun(Jam)3.74
#432Humor(Jam)2.78

Comments

anael says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:38am

I really like the mood, the retro style and the music, awesome work guys.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:47am

The graphics is very cool, and the audio ost and fx are excellent, good job in general

piper82 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:13am

graphics, music and mood are perfect. so is theme. just seems gameplay is unfair. if caterpillar decide to gnaw on you and unbug is not showing up its game over. too random for my taste. or im missing something? great entry overall.

utgarda says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:37am

Very atmospheric, congrats!

rus59wolf says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:31pm

very nice

Octorok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Great game but too random. :(

lurils says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:55pm

nice mood, beautiful pixel art.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:00pm

This. Is. Great!
Most beautiful game I've seen so far!
I already see this winning some good place in the top.

Zarkith says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:08pm

I don't understand why the computer was always annoyed when I made the correct choice, or why weedkiller destroys giant mechanical blade towers.

Still an amazing entry though, despite the randomness.

parias001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:28pm

This was a very emotional game and the art was impressive!

Drauthius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Very good entry! I didn't quite understand many of the faces the computer's doing though. 'n'

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Growing plant by using two buttons - pretty fresh idea. Irony mode off. I need to admit that graphic and audio is on awesome level. I think you can make tamagochi game, when you need to make only one decision per day, per one real day.

Rs11 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:21am

круто инмею похожую чемнто идею уже дамно но она сложно в исполнении)

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:24am

Perfect mood and graphics. Enjoyed it a lot. Good job.

Atnas says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:46am

amazing!! this one really tops much of the competition.

Eshford says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:32am

Incredible graphic style! One of the fav on this LD! Very well!

Eldraev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:08am

The game concept is just adorable and the pixel art makes it look amazing on top of that. Great game.

hydancer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:07am

Cool game. Really great pixel art, mood and use of the theme. One of the the best I've played so far.

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:23am

Nice! Excellent graphics and subtle, poignant music. Especially love the cute monitor face and its expressions. Thumbs up on leading the player first by restricting options and then lifting them. Smart. Good job on this.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:37pm

Вообщем я лупанул все 5 звезд, и пошел жаловаться админу что нельзя постаить больше)
Красавцы парни, уровень что нада!

Luxorix says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Best game!

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:18pm

The mood and graphics of this game are amazing. I found this game through this video that is on both of our games: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vqguj6yIwWY If you haven't seen it you should check it out.

Eshford says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Very well! The graphics is brilliant.

Pusty says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 2:11am

Nice game! Love the art and audio!

Dec 25, 2015 @ 2:56am

great but yet short game, sadly. i wish there was a level 2 to go on playing to this extremely nice music. really good entry.

Jod says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 10:23am

Wow. That was a beautiful game to play. Just gorgeous. The graphics, the sounds.... everything!

However, poor little Horace (I named the plant Horace) died because I got attacked by caterpillars and didn't get the action to remove them. That was sad.

kmakai says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Really excellent, you guys clearly have a great sense for design. The art and animations are lovely, the music and audio is a perfect accompaniment, and the game itself is fun and engaging, not to mention fitting both themes very well. My ONLY complaint, and it is a minor one, is that the "popup" text showing the stat changes for each new day was a bit difficult to read -- I think a combination of the font (though I do like the font), it moving, and it fading all at once just made it a bit hard for me to catch, but like I said this was not a big deal.

Awesome job, congrats!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Good simple game, drawings and sounds are well, gameplay is esay to understand, and I win after two try, well done !

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Lovely. Quite simple, but relaxing, and with pretty visuals and audio. Sometimes I wasn't sure why the computer was happy / sad, cause it looked like it would make a happy face when I lost hp, but it was really because I killed the caterpillars. I think.

Just did a killing run … Felt really bad at the end :I

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Well done! Genius idea, of course, I always wonder how people come up with this stuff.

acotis says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 9:34pm

Nice! I love the mood this game creates, I was genuinely sad when my plant died and happy when it lived. I thought at first you could get different levels of growth in the end (as in, if you do better, you get a prettier flower) even though there wasn't a score, and it made me want to play again and again. That would have made it 5 stars ;)

Oye Beto says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 9:37pm

Loved the art.

Stending says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 9:46pm

Loved everything in this. Really beautiful.
Perfect score from me. <3

jackrugile says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 9:55pm

This game was so beautifully done, visually and aurally. I would give 10 stars for mood if I could. I'd love to see this game expanded after the compo to something with more choice scenarios. Amazing work!

Tapehead says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 9:59pm

this is a very relaxing game. the art, music and the mood of the game are great!

dvdfu says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:33pm

One of my favorites! Game looks polished to perfection, music and setting are very moody. Love it!

Patacorow says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:35pm

Absolutely beautiful, favorite game so far :)

Diel Mormac says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:49pm

5/5

This game is really fantastic!

Top 3 for sure!

Kerdelos says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:52pm

The art, the music and the gameplay all interact very well to make a beautiful game. I Liked the way you implemented a tutorial by disabling one of the options on the first days but for some reason it did not understood it very well at first. I would have liked for a bit more of strategy but hey great job guys !

Mach60KAS says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:55pm

I quite enjoyed this laid-back, atmospheric feel of this game - it reminded me of Wall-E at times!

The graphics reminded me of a lot of the work in the demo scene, particularly the heatwave effects and the beautiful pixel art. The music completed the relaxing feel, I thought it was very well produced. The game could be a little random at times, but my little plant managed to make it in the end! :)

Great work, keep it up in future!

KaiseanGames says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:49am

Cool :)

It's just that randomness sometimes gives you two sandstorms in row with no shields for those turns.

But all in all, very nice entry.

Tselmek says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 1:00pm

Very nice experience, the idea is splendid and it is superbly executed. Nice atmosphere and great mechanics, really good job.

WolfkingW says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:52am

I'm really impressed by your game! It's simple, yet includes a fair amount of tough decision-making. It's straightforward and really does make good use of both themes. The music and art look and sound fantastic, and lend to the overall mood quite nicely. I really love what you've done with the game-- congratulations on a successful Ludum Dare!

Mar 26, 2016 @ 11:05pm

Why is Humus created when weeds are killed?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]