Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

One Day I'll Be A Flower

by Ovidios - Compo Entry

​In "One Day I'll be A Flower" you take control of a fresh young seedling growing in a flower pot in the alps that tries to grow a beautiful Flower.
Collect sun orbs in a snake-esque action game, grow leaves and manage your sugar-resources in order to gain all 7 difficult achievements!

The game was made using the *awesome* Love2d (aka LÖVE) framework. Sound effects were generated using bfxr (http://www.bfxr.net/)​ and the "music" was made using Bosca Ceoil (http://boscaceoil.net/​)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#189Mood3.45
#263Audio3.11
#272Theme3.97
#304Humor2.76
#308Overall3.46
#372Graphics3.31
#393Innovation3.29
#463Fun3.17

Comments

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:22pm

I like the take on the theme i feels so familiar yet different :).

maybe make the first leaf only 3 sun to get going, i had died half a dozen times before actually getting to the tutorial screen about leaves.

I would also consider speeding up the plant, getting the sun can be really difficult especially with the randmomness of the games I played 90% I died before reaching 4 suns and got every one i would be capable of getting without some sort of precognition about where it would drop next

George says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:56pm

Nicely made - I really like the art! :) Works perfectly with the Growing theme

Chewie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Nice little plant simulator, simple yet has additional mechanics in it. Good job ;)

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Interesting little game, but a bit difficult...kept dying before i could connect enough sun for leaves!

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Fun game and fits both themes! Great work, well done :)

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Really interesting take on snake! I think there could be more suns, but maybe I'm just bad at snake. Also, it would be nice if there would be some kind of way to enhance your "sun-catching skill", as it gets almost impossible very quickly to grab sun at all once you get higher. Very good game, loved it!

mlepage says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Nice! Some feedback...

I like the game, it's fun!

Tooltips are hard to read over other text, less transparency maybe.

Press any button to continue doesn't accept mouse button.

When playing, it interrupts to show some more tutorial text, but I immediately hit a button (I was playing) so I didn't get to read it. I had to do the tutorial four times to read it, before I could see how to grow a leaf.

There are times when the white text is on the white (right) half of the screen so it is unreadable. Actually, maybe that's a bug, or my LOVE is slightly incompatible? Because my screen looks different.

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Super cute. Music is nice, gameplay is fun. It lagged like a motherfucker for some reason (which is odd, considering I use Löve all the time and never had that much slowdown)

josefnpat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:56am

I suddenly know so much more about plants ... I think. Nice job! The tutorial was really good!

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:16am

That was great. I suck at this game, but I had loads of fun. I don't get the formula. It seems I'm always to short on sun. :)

Anyway, gonna try again after work.

Very well done.

jonnopon3000 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:55pm

This is a great entry, simple as that! You covered all bases; the only gripe is that maybe the player starts with just too little sugar to make the game as accessible as it could be. I had lots of fun

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:36am

Great. Sugar production could be a bit easier but other than that it's a good game.

oz2mura says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:45am

The use of achievements was a really good idea, it kept me going. Music fits really well, art adds to the relaxing vibe, theme is definitely accomplished well. Challenge is pretty satisfying, still playing it! :D

Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Great job, was quite fun, and included both mechanics so gets my "double mechanic" bonus.

Aaranos says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:24pm

The sound is a bit odd but good game. Follows the theme and is a clever mutation of the classic Snake game. I would be scared however if flowers grew that way.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 10:50pm

The sound is a bit repedetive, but nice. The rest of the game is extremly well done, even achievements

Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Good idea, mechanics were all there and seemed to be working. Balance is really harsh, and it's far too easy to die right away. I feel like the suns in particular were often simply impossible to grab, and the early game was too unforgiving as a result.

Good job though, nailed the theme, and great to see a fellow lovecraftian. <3

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Really addicting game! Good job ;)

Ludipe says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Hey! Liked this game quite a lot :-)
Had to restart the tutorial a few times because I kept skipping the help tips, those should have a retard.
But the game itself was a very nice mix of skill and management.

great job!

ciaodavinci says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 12:07am

I kept losing before getting instructions on how to grow leaves, it also seems a little random when sunbeams come down and when they don't

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]