Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Life Is Short

by ShaunJS - Compo Entry

A game about growing older. Infused with feelings about time passing faster the older you get.

A top down action RPG where you age over time instead of level. Ageing happens faster the older you are. Age affects your stats, first for the better, and then...

Two button controls, left click moves you around, right click interacts with certain things and targets enemies.

Your life is scored at the end, and your accomplishments logged, was it all worthwhile?

Have fun!

(PS. There's also a dragon.)

DEV STUFF:
Whoa, this one was a rollercoaster for me, it really only came together in the last couple of hours. More than any LD before I've felt like there was so many ideas and things I wanted to do that didn't make it in. I think in the end I managed to get enough of what I wanted in there to make it feel like a proper 'thing'. Really doubted I'd get there but I think it turned out ok. Want to continue working on this one!

A lot of it lacks sooo much polish because there were so many features to build. Such is the way of things! Probably most ambitious I've been for LD.

twitter: @ShaunSpalding

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#38Overall4.05
#55Mood3.88
#71Fun3.84
#82Audio3.72
#161Theme4.09
#229Innovation3.58
#268Humor2.85
#273Graphics3.51
#1391Coolness49%

Comments

ShaunJS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:33am

I did it... D:

Devark says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:24am

Interesting take on the theme and scoring system. I died at 52 having trained to perfection, travelled far and wide and then buried with 192 gold!

ORECROS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:13am

___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Mouse Event for Glob Right Released
for object obj_gamestart:

Push :: Execution Error - Variable Get 100000.active(100008, -2147483648)
at gml_Object_obj_gamestart_Mouse_57
############################################################################################

I just died, then I tried to right click. not sure if you could recreate but here you go

ORECROS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:22am

Let me first just say, you taught me game maker and you're the reason I took part in this contest, and thank you so much for doing it. You're awesome. right onto the game
The look and game feel are both pretty good. I feel happy just playing it. At first...
Then, you run into an enemy, have no idea how strong it is, then can't escape from it after the second you get within range. It's a bit of a drag. In addition, you have to hold left click basically all the time. Using a mouse is kind of cheating for the "two buttons" thing, but hey, what works works, and "growing" fits in nicely. I'm about to look through your source, just to see how you did some stuff.

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:04am

Good stuff, Shaun. Looks like something that would need more than 48 hours to make. Haha. I think a map would be nice, but other than that nice work!

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:07am

Nevermind about the map. I just noticed it in the ZIP. Nice touch! :)

Skaz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Followed the stream while developing my own game, was really curious of what it would be like. And it's awesome! Dead at 65 of natural causes. Dead a 39 killed by an angry goblin.

You nailed it, I really want to play more to see those dragons and die of old age at 96 in my bed. Keep up Shaun!

cimbaman says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Loved the game.
It is very interesting to see the final product.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:29pm

a LOT of systems in there! Great work buddy! :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:50pm

This game is really nice ;) I like the message and presentation behind it... but that character doesn't sleep, he hibernates! :P

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Great art, great music, good fit to the theme, and very meaningful! Loved it!

Tom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:14pm

I have watched you do several LDs now and I finally decided to try one for myself. Thank you for all your tutorials and streaming and for all the questions of mine you have answered. Also the game is great! Thanks for making it!

Jebby says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:10am

Deeeep

ehgoodenough says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:05am

Wow. I need to sit and think about life for a bit now. :p

ColdStone says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Amazing game <3

gv1351 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:30am

What a nice game. Shaun you always make very good games. But what is the use of potions if can't use them? Still a very good game and I love the piano background music. Well Done mr. Spalding

CrownCity says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Yeah I became 70! I really liked this concept, especially how the character get's slower and grey once he's older. Plus the new abilities were a nice touch too!

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Well done! I never made it past 50, but it has a cool difficulty curve as you get older and weaker. I murdered a chicken.

PickleCrew says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:18pm

I can't even... this game is just so good. 9/10 needs some actual ranged weapons though.

Allthebees says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:58am

Fun game with a nice difficulty curve. It crashed for me a few times, but other than that very fun to play.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:55am

nice game! i enjoyed it! :)

ShaunJS says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:04pm

What were the crashes if you can remember, Allthebees?

Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Great submission Shaun! Had your stream on in the background while making my game. Probably would've never got into gamemaker without you and now I've finished my first project :D.

redmassacre says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:32pm

hi, gm bro)
nice mood and music and combat system - and source)
And thank you for youtube and GMS humble bundle megasale )

Drury says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:08pm

This is pretty well rounded with surprising depth for a compo game. Great job.

DaneelGavin says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:18am

Created account just to say fantastic game. many lives spent :D few errors though, seem to be focused around picking up of weapons or spells while using attacks.

Catblocker says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Score: 29506
Nice game shaun!
Loved the calm music and the overall feel of the game.
Would be nice if the player sprite changed noticable when he get older. For example that he have lots of hair when he is 20, lost a little bit when he is 40, grey hair when he is 50+ or something like that. So you can really feel like he is getting older.

PeteDS says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:47pm

Wow this is amazing...

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Great execution of a great idea -- it really conveys the meaning nicely through gameplay. You've already got an impressive number of systems in play here, and I'm glad you want to keep working on this.

ShaunJS says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Catblocker, it's subtle unless your'e looking for it but that's actually exactly what happens! =)

Diel Mormac says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:16am

Charismatic Game!

Beautiful music and really fun!

Played at least 5 times :DD

What you think about adding bosses and generating random maps?

Congratulations Shaun!

gregtruc says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Wow... It is always impressive to see what you can do in 48 hours. Incredible game.

rzuf says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:28pm

Wow, this is fantastic! Game feels great, music is cool, graphics are pretty decent (I love your trees for some reason).
Would very much like to see a bigger game made out of this, with many interesting places and events happening around to explore. :3

NPCs bounding boxes (for clicking on them) could be a tad bigger.
The map is tremendously handy.

Uh, is there really a dragon around? Hope you are not trolling good sir, as I intend to spend some more time searching for it.
Kudos!

FireTwin says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:06pm

Really enjoyed exploring in your game and the fact that you can't see everything in one life really fits with the message of the game. The music, short lifespan, and big world, all hit home about the frailty of life. Really nice game man!

z3 says ...
Jan 8, 2016 @ 5:38pm

really nice game. I like the idea of growing with age and the other activities you can do in the world. I played a similar one here in LD, and he used a random creation in the world, maybe it could be a plus to add to create a more random activity to this game. I enjoyed it :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]