Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Rockets Hate the Moon

by nodens - Compo Entry

A short, semi-challenging game that tells the sweet story of a rocket that hates the moon so much that it wants to punch the moon with its face. The moon isn't really into the whole idea, though, and throws cheese wheels to defend itself.

Controls
A or ←: Move Left
D or →: Move Right
A+D or ← + →: Laser

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#12Humor4.05
#128Mood3.59
#211Fun3.55
#263Audio3.11
#428Theme3.80
#451Graphics3.15
#463Overall3.25
#525Innovation3.10
#1727Coolness40%

Comments

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Hahahaha, yep. :P

Squid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:04am

10/10 can confirm, hate moon.

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Ha, fun little game. But shooting by hitting both buttons was awkward and really messed up my trajectory. Game could've also gone for a bit longer, because the music was nice :)

PanKamil says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:07pm

This face design is a masterpiece.

Move127 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:07am

I would have liked it to be longer.

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:09am

Fun concept, but it needed to last much longer. This could be successful with more content and length.

Saranyaan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:25am

Haha this game is funny with all the faces and stuff x) It would have been awesome if it was longer!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:01am

Get rekt moon. 11/10.

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:23am

I think that the moon hates rockets as well :).

adaFish says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:04am

Haaa that was fun. The faces are great. I would also have liked more content, though; what else do rockets hate?

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:42am

I mean... you succeeded in making the point that rockets hate the moon so this game's a true success :D I just would have liked it be longer.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Loved it! You have a great handle of game feel. You were able to communicate speed and the chaos very well with the rushing stars and the particles jutting out from the rocket. Moving left and right with the rocket leaning into it just right felt great. And the emoticons were really cute. Great job! 5's all around

eric777 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:15pm

I love the concept! Very clever theme, I was immediately sucked into the idea that the poor moon gets no respect. I thought the two-button controls were clever because of the third laser control when holding both buttons. In addition to honoring the 2 button constraints, it had a balancing effect of "you can only shoot when you don't move".

I felt sorry for the moon when I was done. I'm sure he didn't deserve it, but I did have fun!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Pretty short but fun entry. Also bonus humour points for the moon is made out of cheese reference :)

Levi D. Smith says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:11am

I never liked the moon anyway. Always thinks he's so special up there in the sky looking down on us!

anv says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:24pm

What that poor Moon has ever done to those rockets? IMO moon should be further, currently single playthrough is too short.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]