Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cyberfunk

by merzlot - Jam Entry

Go kick 'em slick shiny metal droid asses. NOW.

Controls in-game.

Art by Felegz, Merzlot
Code by CruelMotivator
Music by ISGguitar

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#119Audio(Jam)3.81
#224Fun(Jam)3.54
#266Overall(Jam)3.59
#382Graphics(Jam)3.69
#426Mood(Jam)3.32
#508Theme(Jam)3.68
#697Humor(Jam)2.30
#863Innovation(Jam)2.59

Comments

fistmaker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:25am

Fun game! Well executed timing and options! Good interpretation on the theme too! Great entry!

JayProg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:31am

Really well done beat mechanic. Awesome entry.

Ka-Wiz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:24am

fun rhythm game! really enjoyed watching him blast the bad dudes :D the music was perfect for the theme as well, it felt very... robotic? to play, and had good variety as well.

timeshapers says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:46am

Played a bunch of rhythm games this jam, this is the best one so far. A lot of variety in the types of "notes" and a near aesthetic.

MrMordem says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:54am

Nice entry, a good rhythm game with awesome music,
well done guys :D

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:26am

So pshychedelic game. Music is pretty nice. Sometimes the background makes the game blurry.

LostTrainDude says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:31am

I like the effort put in the pattern design and of course, being it based on music, I actually enjoyed the soundtrack a lot.

Sometimes I had a hard time figuring out what I had to click, since the transparency of the bar and buttons was probably too high for all the stuff that was happening behind it (the shoot-em-up style action), but that may be just my problem.

Congratulations on this fun release. Very well crafted :D

merzlot says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Thanks for feedback! :)

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Nice entry, I think I've scored nearly 2k, though don't know how good it is)
Execution of idea is very nice, also I think it would be interesting too add some HP bar or something, cause right now failing does not do anything as far as I can see.

Creating "play elements"(the one that flows through the level) more noticeable would be also great. Anyway had some fun, thank you!

Reccy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Really greatgame, one of the best I've played so far!
Awesome job! :D

fullmontis says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Nice game! I really like the aesthetic you went for. The music is also great, and so is the gameplay. I found difficulto to follow the notes because the enemy were hiding them, especially the blue ones.

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:48pm

fun, simple, effective, beautifull, i liked it

pokipsy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:01pm

I'm really impressed of what you achieved in 72 hours. Playing this game I reached a trance-like state, it brings a very great mood.
My best score: 53640 with 79% accuracy

OwT says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:40am

Really well put together game! It caught me in a flow like Guitar Hero, finished all in one go, my eyes are now still shifting to the left xD

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]