Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Tiediana JAmes

by jim3wg - Jam Entry

Please USE FIREFOX and Unity WebPlayer plugin (will if it works upload a webgl version)


IMPORTANT INFORMATION REGARDING MUSIC :
I asked by email http://waterflame.newgrounds.com/
About using is music i have no respons for the moment ..
If i have no respons tommorow i will remove the music from the build.

Here is the music track
http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/656842


Voila , even if i have only a small amount of time this week end for ludumdare (have to spend time with kids)

I finished something that is not that bad , far away from what i thinked in term of fun but a least i finished the project.

This mini super casual game was done in only 10 hours

Tools used :
-Game developped with unity
-Graphics mainly with flash
-The music is not from me (i sucks at music)

The Story (lol) Tiediana james is stuck in a volcano after a bbq party with friends, after going for a pee i just fall into an cave until the center of an old volcano (Spielberg level script)

You play with left and right arrow to avoid lava ball, and lava stream coming from the side walls (i should better represent the sided lava leak)
But the lava level is growing so you have to Blow to raise down this level ?

I will publish in a few moment a Unity Webplay build and a Windows exe since the webgl seems unstable.

I make games i’m allways open for collboration (even if my english suck)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#76Humor(Jam)3.79
#225Theme(Jam)4.00
#247Graphics(Jam)3.94
#305Audio(Jam)3.40
#380Fun(Jam)3.32
#426Mood(Jam)3.32
#444Innovation(Jam)3.24
#487Overall(Jam)3.35

Comments

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Great production quality, nice work!

Cyranh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Does what it's intended to do. Fun to play. Nice and simple game.

rujo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:06pm

definetly the best i've played so far
good graphic style, perfect take on both the themes and very clever idea to use both buttons as a third action (blow)

Ildfuglen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Cool concept, but I didn't really notice the effect of "blowing" air on the lava, it was a bit hard to get into and at the point where lava comes from the sides of the cave it gets really hard.

Good entry! Great job :)

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Ahahah nice ! It's fun and simple. Good job.

Tipyx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Love the mechanics, but some time the blow doesn't work :(

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:22am

Enjoyed the art style, well done. :)

Unfortunately while playing the web build in Firefox, I started being unable to blow, and when the lava reached me, NullReferenceExceptions came up and I did not lose.

thedashdude says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:42am

Nice job, took me a while to figure out blowing, and I still cant figure out those side lava things. (or magma?)

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:49pm

fun, short, like il love it! GG

Taldius says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:27pm

This gamem is fun and the graphics looks good.
But the controls are too much random and I didn't understand why sometime I could blow and sometime don't.
Anyway, good job.

rzuf says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Quality work! Avoiding lava from above is really hard, maybe add some warning before it sends you down. :P

wooltech says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:54am

Fun, looks great, and you fitted in all three themes!

teamvr says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:33am

Fun idea for theme.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 7:45am

this was really fun - loved the ragdoll character and the gameplay was simple but fun - nice job

monsterkillu says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:34am

Really fun to play. At first couldn't understand the concept of blowing air to cool down. But done really neatly. With 2 kids around, I'd say you're awesome :)

Valandre says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 12:58pm

Neat entry! very clever use of physics!Fun to play!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]