Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Duoregi

by Miko - Jam Entry

A magical girl who has the power to see into the future, but can't remember her past... what could the future hold for her?

Syou is a young freshman who just started going to an academy for other magical girls and boys, but is at a significant disadvantage from her peers- she has severe relapses in her memory from when her birth father was alive and has had dreams nightly since then of two indiscernible doors. However, one night she finds she is able to go through either of the doors- what lies beyond her is already set in stone.

---

Yep, I'm still making visual novel for LD! I think this is my best one yet- or at least, I put the most time into the story over my previous entries. Also, I chose the "Two Button Controls" theme.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#153Graphics(Jam)4.13
#348Mood(Jam)3.42
#692Overall(Jam)3.13
#701Fun(Jam)2.92
#882Innovation(Jam)2.54
#983Theme(Jam)2.83
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:28am

Wow, I wasn't expecting a visual novel with this quality. Really, the visuals are really neat. Have you done all this in the 72 hours for the jam? Pretty much impressive.

LadyS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:27pm

not exactly a two "button control" game but i was investet in the story

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Nice artworks. Interesting that you chose a graphic novel for the game jam!
It was a bit confusing for me that referred to Noveus as her dad and talking about her actual dad... took me a while to get it.

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:01am

Impressive for 72 hours. Never seen this done before.

OwT says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:33am

Quite interesting story, maybe if tou had more time it would turn out better.I ship her father with Noveus, I knew it from the star c:

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:39am

As a fellow visual novel maker, you'd definitely need some more polish. Otherwise, a good story about the connection between the past, the future, and an individual's growth.

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Nice short story, I liked it. As with others said, it was rather confusing that syou was talking about dad and dad (and her dad seemed like he could be a she).
Thankfully there was kind of happy ending at the end :)

Jacob123 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:50am

Interesting that you made a visual novel for this! Very good job!

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:12am

Pro:
+ Cool artwork (Soiren was a bit androgynous?)
+ Great story
Con:
- Two button control theme felt a bit loose
Obs:
o It doesn't look like there is a difference between choosing either doors
o If I choose only Future the game suddenly ends... Don't know if it was intentional

Great job!

nassi says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 6:23pm

Felt pretty linear, but I guess that's okay for a jam game. The art is nice, but the protagonist doesn't really stand. Silence diminishes the mood quite a bit.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]