Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Two Button Takeover

by fauge - Compo Entry

Welcome to two button takeover! where you have two buttons to take over the world! Start out by begging for money and end up with the mercy of billions at the mercy of your 2 buttons!

Controls:
G and H are your two buttons!
if playing on android A and B will appear on the screen in the corners
G or A will "beg" passing cars for money, time it right and strike it rich!

GameEngine: Libgdx
Graphics: paint.net
Time: 4 hours
Overall: I thought it turned out pretty well for how much work i put in, i am getting far better at graphics then i did when i started ld (ld30).

So the original idea for the game: you start out living on the street as a homeless man and you have to beg for money with the passing cars. once you gain money you are given choices for making the decisions that will effect your good/bad meter. These choices will also help you advance to the next stages of the game where eventually you become the ceo of a corperation, the mayor, the president/dictator then you start taking over countries and eventually the world.

note: the timelapse was taken with screenshots every 4 seconds, when i was working on the game i was recording with the timelapse going, the total time came out to be around 4 hours.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2210Coolness20%

Comments

Os_Reboot says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Interesting concpet. I can't tell if there is anything past the homeless level, after $20 I got bored. You might want to have a repercussion for spamming the buttons, such as a loss of money for a poorly timed hit. It's a decent start, but it needs work. I can't wait to see what you do with this!

Masuno says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:21am

Uh... huh. So, that's a thing.

What exactly does pressing H do, anyways?

I'd like to say this is an interesting concept, and that it has a good chance of, with some work, being a much better game, but as for now... not so much.

I wanna see where this goes, but I don't think highly of it at all at the moment.

fauge says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:26am

@Os_Reboot I understand theres no "goal" but i ran out of time...
@Masuno I ran out of time, this is only 4 hours of work im pretty proud of it given my time commited

Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:46am

This is certainly a interesting concept. From what I can tell, however, based on your Github repo, it isn't very fleshed out.

I think if this was developed a bit more, it could be very cool. Right now it isn't very developed and so there isn't much to say. :/

acotis says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Lol, are you trying to tell me $23.7 isn't enough to start a business? :P

EstrelSteel says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:55pm

I would to see what you could do with more time

Rogod says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:58pm

I played to $10 and expected something to happen at this point due to how slowly the money goes up.
It would have been nicer to have some kind of visual or audio feedback to let me know when I am gaining money, or how well I have done it. There didn't seem to be any reasoning or logic behind the money gained or the difference between G and H.
This could be kinda fun I guess, but it's seriously lacking in playability, it doesn't create fun, it enduces boredom, so the entire concept of the game falls flat.
Also having some variation on graphics would have been nicer; why do all the cars look the same and travel at the same speed on the same side of the road? Why does nothing else move? Why is there no sound? What is the goal/what is the player aiming for at any stage or overall?
Don't get me wrong, this could have been something, but you really need to put more than 4 hours of work into something to call it a game if this is the best you can come up with for a 48hr game programming competition. It feels like you didn't even test it to check the entertainment level.

Tosic says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 7:14pm

I liked the looks, but um... I could not get any money...
But nice :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]