Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Volcano

by uvwar - Compo Entry

Grow Volcanoes!

Scroll in and out with the mouse wheel, left click to pan the camera.

WASD or ARROW KEYS to move your little red cursor

PRESS F to SPAWN a VOLCANO

MASH SPACEBAR to GROW and ERUPT a VOLCANO

Be careful of spawning a bunch of volcanoes before you erupt them! This can bring the game to a standstill. Erupt as you place!


Special Thanks to:
Will Blanton
Momin Khan
David Byers
Kirk Musngi
Sebastian Lague
Mentalogicus
Jasper Flick

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#248Audio3.15
#297Innovation3.44
#334Graphics3.37
#351Mood3.15
#552Overall3.15
#562Theme3.63
#763Fun2.71

Comments

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:15am

Great concept! I love doing eruption :D

Fathom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:16am

I enjoyed this. I enjoyed setting of volcanoes. Great work, you've got a nice style going here.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:20am

Doesn't really seem like a game, but cute graphics and unique concept. :)

Davision says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Pressing F doesn't spawn volcanoes for me, a little particle effect is all I see.

uvwar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:52pm

That is the volcano spawning Davision, you have to cause it to erupt by pressing SPACE.

flakoflak says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:54am

A little difficult to understand, but idea is original.

purrpurr says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:07am

I really liked this concept, it's unique and vibrant. Though it seems more like a toy. I would probably enjoy seeing this worked out.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:36am

Good models, enjoyed eruption!

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:37am

Nice idea, not so much a game but it is a very interesting concept :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:38am

I love the way you did the tutorial, it was surprising and looks fun.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:57am

Nice work! It was fun to spawn multiple volcanoes at once, even though it slowed the game down at times. The interface in the beginning was really interesting. Would recommend adding more visual feedback when you have pressed F to place a volcano.

Ryusui says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:24am

Spiffy little toy you've got here. I just wish the controls were a little less cumbersome, like maybe locking the camera and the cursor to each other to an extent. Like, the cursor auto-centers when you pan around, and the camera will also move if you move the cursor past a certain "deadzone".

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Simple, well made little interactive! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/DppxuiW8XzY

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Nice concept, I love destroying worlds :)

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:54am

ah man I can finally hear the audio. I really love where you took the game from the second night on into sunday - the clouds, the green, and especially the water were huge improvements. I wish there were more systems to interact with - did you see managore's planetarium?

foolmoron says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:47pm

I think this is definitely your best game so far. The graphical style is really cool and makes the low-polygon stuff look really good. The ominous music really fits the "beginning of the world thing". But the volcano animation and the particles and the moss growing and turning into land is the coolest thing for sure. I really like growing a bunch of volcanoes at once and getting a really loud sound effect...

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:28am

not sure this is a game - but interesting idea

Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Would have loved some life to grow and flourish on the islands, or be destroyed by the eruptions... idk but the game worked well and looked quite nice :D and greetings from Mt Etubo :P good work.

oparisy says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:03pm

Hello, haha indeed we had a similar idea and the same basic shortcoming (turning it into a game). Anyway I enjoyed your visual design and herb growing animation. Sound design was a nice touch too!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]