Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Panball

by gillenew - Jam Entry

Help the panda to defeat hunger! :D

Used software:
-Construct 2 for mechanics
-Photoshop For graphic
-BFXR For sound effects

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#156Fun(Jam)3.66
#194Audio(Jam)3.59
#216Humor(Jam)3.29
#253Theme(Jam)3.97
#332Graphics(Jam)3.76
#344Overall(Jam)3.50
#434Mood(Jam)3.31
#946Innovation(Jam)2.37

Comments

windwarrior says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:18pm

It works great :D, its a bit basic, but very nice polish!

Yamzho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Looks great, fun to play, but I had to plug a mouse to my laptop. Playing with a trackpad isn't optimal ! ;)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Liked it! The way that you fire your panda initially was unintuitive since you had to click on him and I thought you had to click anywhere. Great graphics!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Good job

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:52pm

Not bad. Panda would sometimes get stuck on the flippers but otherwise I really liked it. Good job

misteak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:53pm

woooo burgers and fries

pretty slick game! nice graphics :)

craigoryham says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:58pm

Playthrough went smoothly. Liked the sonic esque game music and the jazz menu music. Physics were smooth butter for me. Felt like a pinball game, and decent use of two button theme I'd say.

MicroMacro says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:01am

Fun, cute game. Simple concept, but the polish made it much more interesting and unique. Good job!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:43pm

So cool! After like 10 Ludum Dare's this is the first pinball game I've played, no idea why, maybe I should make one too one day.
You really nailed the mechanics too, very fun to play overall. And the music is certainly a plus. :)

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:01pm

Nice entry! It seems that fruits do not respawn in the boss level, so it may get hard to kill the boss if you can't grow big anymore. Good use of both theme and funny pinball game, good job ! ;)

Nooner Bear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:49pm

This is a fun cute little game, and it's a nice application of the theme! I'm glad to see there was also more than one level (I couldn't get past the second so I don't know if there were more)

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:51pm

very good game! the graphics are beatiful, and the mechanics are solid, the two themes are perfectly together really enjoy this game, nice work!

Troma says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Works great, pretty fun!

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Woah, what a nifty thing I just played! Nice!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Very simple game, but it was fun to play. Really nice feel overall. Everything fits stylistically together.

kernel panic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:45pm

It's hard to defeat the boss, but this will happily do as a replacement for Microsoft Windows' Pinball.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Man, I LOVE me some videogame pinball and am hugely annoyed I didn't make the same mental connection as you that two buttons is perfect for a pinball game.
hugely enjoyable, plays exactly as I expect 16 bit videogame pinball games to

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:15pm

It's so juicy! I love the art. :0

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Really pretty Pinball Game (clever name)
It's hard to play without mouse, and for some reason i didn't hear any music.
The art is really good!
Great job!

Jwatt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:17pm

The physics feel as you'd expect from a pinball game, no complaints there. The presentation is fairly charming too.

But the character growing seems kinda like a gimmick, it doesn't have a real effect on gameplay. If you want to take that aspect further, consider blocks that are only breakable when you're big, or something.

Garris says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:19am

This game was super fun to play. Love the graphics and the audio, and the controls were easy. Theme was well represented in the panda's fatness and the two button control! Nicely done!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:29am

Even though it's simple I rather liked the style in this one. The artwork was very nice, reminded me of Yoshi's Island oddly. Quick, nice little time waster!

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:01am

How clever to do a pinball game! Pinball certainly uses two buttons haha. That panda was very cute, I had a good time playing it! Very nice work. :)

Gins says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Very fun pinball game! The second stage is ridiculously hard though :( Couldn't beat it. Also, it's very frustrating that left-click = restart the entire game :((

koocachookies says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:12pm

I love the cute graphics!

suppi says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:22pm

well done! really fun game :)

Tom says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Probably the best idea for the themes. I saw something else comment this but I am also upset I didn't do a pinball game now lol. Great job.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:50pm

One of the best flipper games which I have ever seen on the web. Very polished. It could be improved by other features. I like the way that you worked the theme. Neat ++

euske says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:51pm

It was fun and well made, but I want keyboard control! Sometimes the mouse buttons didn't work and it randomly opened a context menu. :/

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Very cool game, fun and simple to play

BeardyBard says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Straight to the win xp nostalgia!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Nice! I do like a good flipper game from time to time. I think it was very cute. My only complaint is that it is a little too small, a 2x scaled version to make things easier to see would be a lot better.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Fellow Construct user! This is so cute! Very well made too <3 Lovely!

xhunterko says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:42pm

Very cool on this one! You don't see too many pinball games! Nicely done!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:35am

Awesome use of the theme! I like how you snuck the growing in there as well. Music was nice and smooth, I especially like the menu music. Game mechanics are tight and offer a great gameplay experience. Well done!

freaknarf says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:54am

Nice, a pinball friend !
Nice physics,cool idea with the Panda growing ! I was sometimes surprised by time induced game over, i love to play pinballs for hours :) Cool songs/fx, but the very first track was a bit saturated I think (menu)...
Cheers !

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Fun game! It's easy to play and it's works great!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:28pm

A simple pinball, but it's working, music and drawings are good, and it fits the theme. Good job. :)

amras0000 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:06pm

First off, regarding jam rules: if you used pre-made music, it's asked that you opt out of the audio category. The same applies for graphics if you used any pre-made assets.

I only saw the first two levels (because the second one was too difficult, as explained below), and while the graphical aesthetic is rather cute, I really didn't enjoy this as a pinball game:
-probably the biggest issue is in the boss level. Any direct path to the boss is blocked by bouncers. So There's no real way to use skill to defeat the boss. The only thing you can do is flail randomly and hope that the ball bounces off randombly to hit it. Having a tunnel you need to hit or a smaller hitbox on the boss would have provided similar difficulty without relying on luck.
-the flippers take far too long to reset. In a pinball game, you want the flippers to be either up or down at all times, with as little downtime in between as possible (1 or 2 frames of transition max).
-the controls for the flipper are both bound to the mouse. This means that I can't realistically put one hand on either flipper control without some scripting locally. Try Z and / or the two shift keys for a more fluid arcadey experience.
-and as a minor nitpick, since the menus are navigated with the flipper controls, I ended up choosing an option because I was in the middle of controlling the flippers, before the menu actually loaded up. A much cleaner solution would be to have the player move the mouse over the option they want to select (this wouldn't sacrifice the theme, either).

Overall, it's a LD game so I'm not expecting the best pinball game I've ever played, but for future projects, those are the conventions pinball games tend to follow. Good luck :)

Smirnov48 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 1:32am

Good job! Your pinball more interesting and more dynamic, than mine. Sometimes you have bug. Bear disappears and you lose it.

Pusty says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 1:32am

Was fun to play! Nice one

Didi says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Nice! #pandafriday!

ragnta says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:57am

Good job! :)

OwT says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:19am

My panda stuck on second level, and there was no way to bring him down or restart the game. Other than that, great!

Tapehead says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:03pm

very nice and polished entry! very enjoyable to play! very well done!

Kerdelos says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:45pm

Super fun to play ! The physics feels a bit weird sometimes though.

drludos says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:07am

Nice game, I love it! The Panda is so cute! :) The graphics are really good, and the gameplay is nice too! Only things that bothered me was that you have to click on the panda to launch it (at first, I thought the game was not working, because I was clicking blindly in the game area), and that the flipper controls also controls the menu. The first time I completed the first level, I accidentally came back to the menu instead on "continue" to the boss level.

Other than that, great take on the flipper genre, and fun to play!

radmars says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 2:38am

Nice! Clever use of the theme here.

emmes says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:38am

Nice graphics, awesome tune, but I don't know what I have to hit already in level 2 :-/

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]