Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Inner Circle

by ruscoe - Jam Entry

This is a simple game that combines both the winning themes - Growing and Two button controls.

Use the left and right arrow keys to rotate the outer circles. Keep the inner circle growing by matching the color of the top outer circle to the color of the inner circle.

Score a point every time the inner circle reaches its maximum size.

The inner circle will shrink slowly over time and quickly when the wrong outer circle color is selected.

Your score will be reset if the inner circle shrinks to its minimum size.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#514Innovation(Jam)3.14
#668Theme(Jam)3.52
#896Overall(Jam)2.86
#939Fun(Jam)2.57
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

danieldsj says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:04am

I like the puzzle theme, however the "cooldown" is a bit too fast. I would have likely added some kind of animation for the rotation, and maybe played around with the acceleration of the spin. The switch is a bit too abrupt to get a true sense of "spin".

SoulBound says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:09am

Some animation would have served you well here. I found it difficult to find out where all of the colours where after they switched.

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:11am

Thanks !

zenchaplays says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:41am

Too hard but otherwise simple execution on the themes with a rewarding concept!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Really simple looking, but quite challenging and complex! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/p3nh2TkdCXs

abolfazl.sh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:31am

100 point . yes
pleas play my game

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=59316

brainstorm says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:00pm

I don't know how, but this is quite addictive! Really interesting concept, but as someone said in the comments, it needs a rotate animation.

3/5

Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:56am

I really like this, building up your combo is awesome once you hit the peak. It seems a bit harsh when the next colour is on the bottom, as you lose a lot of momentum. I understand that this is more due to the theme though. Hopefully if you decide to extend this, you address it.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 2:04am

Nice challenging game. Well done !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]