Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Dying Light

by tesnos - Jam Entry

ATTENTION!!!!
YOU MUST FIRST INSTALL PYTHON 2.7 AND PYGAME BEFORE RUNNING THIS GAME!!!!

Story
=============================================================================
In a world where ogres have taken over and wish to plunge the world into an eternal darkness by blowing out all of the 11 candles of light, which are the only thing letting all the rest of the world's candles burn, the only thing left that can stop them and bring light to the world again and relight the candles of light is the last candle that is still burning..

Instructions
=============================================================================
You (the candle) go down the infinite path until you meet an enemy. You then try and defeat him so you can relight the candle he holds hostage and relight it. Press space whenever it shows up, and the game will tell you how much damage you did. The sooner you press it, the more damage you do. But be careful, as doing this slowly lets the ogre blow you out. You must defeat him before he extinguishes your light. If you win, more light is added to the world. If you lose, light is removed. After you have defeated the 10 henchmen, you must defeat the boss. After that, light is returned to the world!

Tools Used
=============================================================================
- Google Images (just for ideas, nothing actually taken)
- paint.net
- Python's built-in IDE (sue me, I can't find a one I like)
- bfxr
- abundant-music
- Chiller Font
- Megaman 1/2 Font, found here: https://www.splintered.co.uk/experiments/140
- Pygame

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1054Overall(Jam)2.53
#2043Coolness28%

Comments

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:55am

How do I run? I am on linux.

behzad_robot says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:55pm

hi how can we run it really? :/ it's some python files and some images only ...

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:08pm

How to run? MacOS X ElCapitan

iapc says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Please actually build your game. It's not feasable to play it this way.

Ace says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:45pm

First off, boss.png is missing so the game is impossible to complete. Secondly, title.png should be Title.png otherwise the game won't run on OS X or Linux.

Apart from those issues;

Why have an options menu if you're just going to berate the user for wanting to check it? Feels strange.
Using the close-window button for interacting with the application feels wrong as well.

You also need to define a better range for the spacebar timings, had many of them appear for only a single frame making them quite literally impossible to press in time unless you're just sitting and constantly spamming the key - in which case the game becomes very boring.

danbolt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:06pm

I had PyGame installed, and I was able to run your source code. The game has some bugs, but I think they can be fixed quickly! I'll explain in the next comment to help.

I liked the concept, the concise design of the game is good for jams like Ludum Dare. I think the scope of your ideas for this game was a good size. The look of the overworld map and the battles, along with the patterns reminded me of Earthbound, which is always a good thing. :P

I think the quicktime events were cool, but maybe needed a bit of explanation ingame. I got a bit frustrated when the quick ones came and gone. To be honest, in order to get to the final boss, I just pressed the spacebar very quickly over and over during the battles. Apart from the timing issue, the design made sense.

Overall, cool ideas, especially if this was your first submission to Ludum Dare! I hope to see you in the jam or compo next time! :)

danbolt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Okay, let me see if I can help with a few small things:

1) The "playerdead.png" and "boss.png" assets are missing from the zip file. I ended up substituting them with test pictures to finish the game. Maybe update your upload with those?

2) My default installation of PyGame on didn't support Mp3 decoding with the "mixer" class. This might be because PyGame relies on SDL, and SDL doesn't support MP3 without an extra module. Maybe use .WAV just to be safe?

3) Maybe you might want to package your game up as an executable for Windows users to play. That way they won't need to install PyGame to run it that way. PyGame has a tool called "pyg.exe", but I don't know much about it. There's a few other tools you can Google up that can make installers for your game. Maybe look those up?

Hope those help! If you have any other questions, feel free to contact me at "dansvg@gmail.com".

tribrain says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Make it easier to run

blubberquark says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:22am

I did not get why sometimes it was bad when I press space. How does it work?

-bob

acotis says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:54pm

A couple things:

- There are some files missing from the assets folder, notable Title.png (it is called title.png instead), boss.png, and playerdead.png. The game crashes when any of these pictures is needed.

- The text at the beginning of the game seems like it's supposed to go at the end. Then again, it wasn't very informative anyway. It might work better to explain to the player what's going on, unless you are going for a 'just throw them in' feel, in which case you might want to take it out completely.

- It's only because of my history as a Linux user that I knew how to install pygame and get this to work. As another user suggested, you should legitimately build you game before shipping it. I'd trade in-game quality for out-of-game quality any day.

- The false options menu was clever, but the red block text killed the mood (I took a mood star away for that).

- As another user said, the spacebar mechanic was frustrating. You should give the user a fighting chance, and maybe punish them for button-mashing to make sure they don't cheat.

- The controls for starting a new game and continuing through the levels were inconsistent. And please, ditch the "X out to continue" thing.

Things I did like:

- The art, although simple, was neat. It gave the game a kind of mystic, story-telling feel that detailed minutia just can't deliver.

- The audio was awesome; the fact that it just played continuously through the hallway and the encounters made it feel like there were actual smooth graphical transitions (which I would have appreciated).

- On that note, the font on the title was pretty great too.

TL;DR: Cool game, love the mood. Needs a better play mechanic and some polishing, though.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:38pm

I found it to be rather lacking. But I liked the idea.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]