Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

StarShibe

by gladers - Jam Entry

StarShibe a space battle of nostalgic proportions. Game Jam entry.


--------
Controls
--------

Left mouse: Fire
Right mouse: Dodge

-------
Credits
-------

Programming / Voice - Gladers
Art - Alden
City map - Fabio (couldn't make second day, so we removed graphics as a rating as we couldnt finish the map)
Testing - Frankfurt Indie developers group

-------
Assets
-------

Music (*Corneria Star Fox Guitar Cover) - FamilyJules7X
http://bit.ly/1k16GWy

Skeleton - Lugia Games

Please tell me if I missed someone!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#108Humor(Jam)3.67
#152Fun(Jam)3.67
#256Audio(Jam)3.48
#427Overall(Jam)3.41
#668Theme(Jam)3.52

Comments

the-arrival says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:24am

What... an almost complete StarFox game made in 3 Days? Thats just impressive

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Definitely getting the nostalgia, but struggled to see when shots were coming my way (as the ship often covers the reticule). Also had some weirdness happen with the camera, and the Aelion roll was often a somersault! :)

Ludic says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Much content for 3 days, congrats

YinYin says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Two buttons and a growing skeleton. Nailed it.

Only really scoring low on graphics, because these were not only inconsistent in quality (rough hand drawn characters and different quality/detail levels for terrain/water/objects/materials all over the place), but often also somewhat hindering the game play (target reticule being easily covered, movement of your own ship being a little unclear unless your wing mates were close by and stationary, camera and ship making rather unfitting movements) as well as turning the aileron roll into all kinds of Lomcovák maneuvers (I had to look that up!). Seems like you are spinning around a world axis rather than the objects transform.forward.

Good fun regardless.

Muel says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Oh, the nostalgia...

Also, about the aileron roll:
http://i.memeful.com/media/post/BRkm0vw_700wa_0.gif

gladers says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:49pm

We wish we had some more time to get some better graphics in, our mapper couldnt make the second day of the event, so we've decided to remove graphics as a rating and focus the game on the fun factor. Enjoy, and thanks for taking the time to play and comment!

Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:53pm

This was hilarious.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:13pm

A mini-story action jam game! Not sure if I could actually lose but this felt like a proper N64-era game, nice!

Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Wooow! Incredible starfox-style game. I love it, wonderful music and solid gameplay :-)

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Nice little game. Great Job!

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Looks cool, but I was missing something. There is no feedback that I am doing some damage to the skeleton. I thought it was an unfinished part.

Well done... could be polished, but if everything was made from scratch during LD, well done.

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 7:45pm

That was awesome. xD

Krafty says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:34am

Pretty neat game, there were some issues that I had but overall it was cool! I liked the skeleton =P

gladers says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:01pm

If you have issues please message me or Twitter me @Gladers we ran lots of tests but you discover anything that prevents you from playing please tell me. Little things ingame we know about, we made it from scratch in 3 days and the project was too big to be perfected in that short of a time frame haha :P

Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:27pm

Awesome little StarFox tribute. Do a barrel roll!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]