Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Ortogonalis

by pjimmy - Compo Entry

A deadly supernova is threatening the existence of our entire universe! It's up to you to contain these massive powers of destruction, with the help of your spaceship, the Ortogonalis, a unique vessel with Hyperspace travel capabilities.

Goal:

Contain the supernova by closing the hyperspace borders (blue borders). You do this by changing the color of the borders from Blue to Purple.
Don't let the supernova grow into it's maximum size, or else we're doomed!

Instructions:

There are only two buttons: A and Escape.

Button 'A' selects game, changes the direction of the spaceship, enters wormholes, and enters the blue borders.

It's important for you to keep track of the spaceships current direction.

Button 'Escape' pauses the game and restarts.

Use the first level for practice purposes. You'll need it in order to achieve highscores!

The faster you are with the controls, the more you'll score.

Requisites:

HTML5/CANVAS browser. Warning: I've noticed sound issues with chrome browsers. If possible use Firefox instead.

You feedback is appreciated!

Peace ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#244Innovation3.55
#468Audio2.65
#484Fun3.15
#528Overall3.18
#646Humor1.95
#697Mood2.65
#715Theme3.40
#804Graphics2.41

Comments

dtroyt says ...
Dec 12, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Good job

Jejkobb says ...
Dec 12, 2015 @ 9:56pm

That's actually really fun, I played better as the game got harder and it was perfect. Good job man, next time you could make better graphics and cool sprites, since this is pretty bland.

Simple and fun, I like it!

TripleW says ...
Dec 12, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Awesome gameplay ! :D

z3 says ...
Dec 12, 2015 @ 10:19pm

nice game!

johntherobot says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 2:21am

Simple, but the difficulty scaling is great!

Dec 13, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Good job, since you made it so addicting.

dmecke says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:58pm

2695 :-)

Feels very much like the old Atari games - made me super nervously hitting the a key over and over again.. :-)

victorfisac says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Nice and original idea! :D

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:18pm

The gameplay is really fun. I also like your difficulty scaling.

gallerdude says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Innovative and fun gameplay. Would play this if it were an app.

powerkraut_ says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Pretty fun and original idea.

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:24pm

The theme said you could use two buttons but I spent the whole time only using one :P Great game. I hope it gets a high rating.

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:35pm

2739!
Not very intuitive gameplay but why not. It was actualy fun to play! but technically, it's more of a one button game (unless I missed someting)

Check out Digicross, playable in solo/multi/coop :
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=46758

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:50pm

Great fun. And addictive :)

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Original idea and good gameplay. This is what we are for!

Andrew Patton says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:20pm

This an interesting and original game. I really like the style and graphics.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Final score 2919.

That was quite fun and hectic by the end. The game was especially good at knowing the right things to do whenever I pressed A which was great for the speed of the game. Excellent job.

Zarkith says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Final Score: 3039

Not sure if a pause button counts as a control, but this was still a really fun and unique entry regardless. :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Nice gameplay idea!

rockford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:50pm

So clever!!!!!

teamross says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:56pm

oooh yes!
I enjoyed sooo much.
Addicting by itself.

Have you thought about continuing on it for mobile platforms?

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Amazing gameplay. Please make this into a mobile game.

sanojian says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Pretty unique game. It is fun. It was maybe a little bit too easy.

napoleon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:28pm

quite fun!

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Good entry, nice addition would be if levels would differ the farther you get :)

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:40pm

I absolutely loved this, it is quite addicting! It gets very, very fast - maybe another feature and you can have a really, really nice game! Well done! Also, I like how you actually only have 2 buttons!

Melusine says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:56pm

A very cool game. Good job

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:59pm

very nice! That was some pretty original gameplay, and it was quite fun!

mechanics were easy enough to get within 15 seconds of play, and the challenge increased at a fair pace.

overall, this was a really good entry, simple but fun. Great work :)

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:12pm

3887 score! Very weird game, the learning curve is just right.

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:34am

Final score: 5415

Great job! You're games are always very unique. Simple, but unique. This is no different. Wish the difficulty increased by more than just the timer though. Maybe some enemies could enter that you have to avoid with direction reversal?

BROWNY_09 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:44am

This is pretty neat. The feeling of urgency and wanting to go faster each level made for some fun and panicked gameplay. The purple flickering on the sides was a bit much for the eyes but other than that this was great! Nice Job :)

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:44am

Very nice concept! The graphics fit the gameplay well. After figuring out what to do it got really addicting!

The music is a bit annoying but stopped after a while ;)

Overall good job!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:53am

Good job on the theme! Fun game I like the concept a lot

dlowe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:02am

The in-game instructions made no sense to us at first. Once we got used to it, really enjoyed it! I thought it was hilarious to choose to use 1 of the 2 button controls for "pause" while the other button does 3 different things. And the 'game over' screen really startled me! Thanks :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:12pm

I really liked this, it really nails early 80s gameplay and aesthetics, right down to the backstory

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Wish the music looped, one of the best precision games out there!

pparke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Timing took a little practice to get down but that's the way it should be :) Overall it was fun and had a cool mechanic that made use of the control restriction.

Taffaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:58pm

I liked it, never played a game similar to that which is a positive.

freaknarf says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Original concept, i felt like difficulty was only coming at the end levels, and starting the game from the start affraid me a bit at first but i tried and beat it the second time :) cool little game

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:10pm

unique and simply, good job!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Pretty fun and addictive

sichevoid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Nice and challenging! Appreciate the zero-level for learning the controls without punishment :)

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:15pm

ahh nice job here was fun playing this

Well Done!

acotis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:39pm

2688. Not bad, but I would have liked a second game mechanic to spice things up :P

icereci says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:14pm

I'm pretty satisfied with 2535. I don't know if its good or not.
Nice concept. Well put together.

eerongal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:31am

Neat little game. Reminds me of old atari style games. Nice work!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:37am

Pretty cool concept! The timing was very strict, but otherwise an interesting game!

Mikhail says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:09am

This was a fun game. I really enjoyed it! It got harder and harder which was great and it seemed to have speed cap which was good. The game allowed for me to make a few mistakes even when the game got faster which was great. Not to hard and not to easy. Great balance!

Muel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:51am

So much Atari nostalgia =)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:17am

I like the innovative idea of this game! But it becomes repetitive after some time since it requires the players to pay full attention for too long.

Tasgardyen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:38am

Good game, but actually ive nothing much to say

SwitchTeam says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:10am

The concept is special but good job, it's fun!

VideoDog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:16am

The music is outstanding. Now if only it looped! Nice graphics and addictive gameplay.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:11am

nice game!

Reinoso says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Game fun, different and very clever! I liked!

MaulUdder says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Simple and hard to master, I like that. Quite hectic, often struggling to recover when I do something wrong with the control :D

skripteriant says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:01pm

More of a one button game but I think it was a pretty clever solution to both themes!

recursor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:32pm

While the concept is good, I'd like to see a new game-play mechanic, obstacle, vertical or horizontal bar to run down, or enemy added as you progress. I think that would add nicely to what you already have.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:24am

3786. Fun to play until the end. Gets kind of hectic trying to control your ship at intersections close to the walls.

vicious_br says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:55am

Ow, congratulation for your game! Greate sound and concept.
I would like to take this opportunity to ask a favor. You already rated my game, but I was not allowed "innovation rating." Please could you assess this item now? Take the opportunity to play with some corrections. Very thanks:http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=36629

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:04am

Nice job! Fun to play.

Krafty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:34am

This was a lot of fun, surprisingly addictive for how simple it is! I would suggest changing it up a bit in the future, maybe adding enemies or different shapes that you have to fill up, and improving the music and graphics a bit. Still it was great! Good job!

candlesan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:29am

Game play is pretty original! cute sounds too.

richardboegli says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:29am

Lots of fun to play, great use of the theme. LOLed when I read the instructions and everything was A key. :)

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:34am

Keep up the hard work!

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:04pm

Really fun game ! Well done, I enjoyed playing. You could make a great mobile game with a concept like yours.

Husky says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:51pm

I love the simple mechanic, very clever and fun!

DrFallos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Hey mate, nicely done! Gameplay looks innovative to me, its always a good thing when people are searching for something new in mechanics! Well Done =)

Polith Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Nice game! Congrats

Ulydev says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Nice concept, good job!

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:12pm

I think this would make a nice mobile game. It seems innovative in the way you represent it but this is a very old mechanic working on mostly reflexes. Reminds me of those machines with prizes inside and you've to stop the quare at the right spot. It was slow sometimes, not sure if because of Firefox and it did take input before the right position. All in all, addicting gameplay.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:39pm

I was very confused at first, but once I got the hang of it it's really fun. Really smart move to remove the time-limit for the first level.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:58pm

Thanks for all the feedback, very appreciated! ;D
I'm taking note of all your suggestions. I'll try to find ways to improve the game, like adding enemies, walls or other types of shenanigans, whilst trying to maintain its simplicity.
Also, I will be porting the game to java using the libgdx framework for an android release, whenever I can. If the game ends up with an overall score in the compo top 100th, I might release it as early as February. But regardless of the position or scores, I'll be releasing an android port of the game.
So keep sending those suggestions, thank you ;)

LeReveur says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:12am

Interesting gameplay, only one button to save the world, one don't see that every day ! :D

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:24am

I really enjoyed it. I played it through for a few levels until I got my butt handed to me. Very good work!

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:21am

Wasn't sure how the red stuff worked at first, but once i realized it was just a timer it felt somewhat bland. Could be more interesting if it blocked blue entrances now and then, so you'd have to be careful when choosing where to enter.

oz2mura says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:06am

I was feeling like such a boss when I started figuring out the game play. Then I got too cocky at the end and started messing up bad : resulting in http://i.imgur.com/eZdUS6Z.png poor Ortogonalis. :(

Fun gameplay, I can see a lot of cool stuff done with these mechanics, felt like a potential rhythm type game.

herniewise says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:34am

Simple and effective :)

Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:56am

Wow, that was weird :) And I like it! :D I was confused by the instructions at first, but as soon as I started playing it was super intuitive. Great concept, and I hope you explore it further.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:01am

Good game man, just improve on graphics and boom you got a gem here, do a post jam version

Allthebees says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:21am

Weirdly intuitive controls. Enjoyed playing it a lot, and it's really original.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Creative entry and weirdly satisfying!

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Simple but fun! Idea is nice.
A bit more difference between level would be great.

By the way, in the comments yo my game you said that you got a crash. Please provide full error log. Also, what system you're on? What videocard(s)? Have you tried to update videocard driver?

SK16 Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:11pm

I love the feeling of the game, the graphics and music is awesome! The gameplay is very innovative and fun too!
1939 :)

BuffaloPhil says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Fun concept! The key press timing was quick/tough to get right, but I liked it

flwns says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:08pm

this game is a trip

Tuism says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:24am

Interesting take on a pure timing game, super abstract, but works well enough. Not too much depth to it though.

eskivor says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:25am

simple but good and original

23 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:05am

Nice one! Feels like a classic arcade game.

Only complaint is that sometimes I seemed to have trouble entering a wormhole from the outer ring - I'd switch direction back and forth just outside it repeatedly without entering. Maybe the hitbox for it was small?

If I had to make a suggestion about the gameplay, it'd be great if your ship changed color or something depending on what the button would do so it'd be easier to time presses.

The death screen is cool too.

Crosstales says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Nice game
my score 2886

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:17pm

Good job! It took a few minutes to figure out, but I got it. It was a lot of fun! My top score was 2694!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Very nice, my final score was 2542, nice mechanic but I think it was constrained a little too much by actually having only one control - I would have considered pause buttons not to be part of the controls for the purpose of the theme.

Wicked7000 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Overall the game was pretty solid I liked the mechanics a lot and the audio wasn't too bad either I think the only point of critique I could give is that of the graphics but it still wasn't that bad just if there was anything I would recommend to improve on

scorched says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:59pm

I think you should have implemented two button controls; one button controls are inconvenient for me :D Also timing is too hardcore.
Overall good job!

Blobo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:14pm

The music was good until it stopped playing. overall i liked the concept.

RoynLimb says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Wow this is a challenging game. You really need to be fast. I made it decently far, but the red creeps up fast. Nice game.

ChromeWisp says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Good implementation of a difficulty curve. Definitely felt like a good ol' classic arcade game.

shadow64 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:31pm

This was awesome! Thank you for playing, rating, and commenting on GET IT OUT!!! I had such a good time playing this. My score was 2861! It's such a simple game and completely engaging. I'd love to see you branch out with it and make the maps larger as the game goes on. So fun! Really well done. Congrats on finishing! Can't wait to see how it does. :)

Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:47am

Fun idea, just too difficult to control when it came to junctions.

Diel Mormac says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Simple and fun game!

Made 4k + score :D

Congratilations!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Cool idea! Well executed and original
Nice!

Ludipe says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Hey there! Thought the game could be cool, but repeating the same level over and over again got old a bit too fast :(

I'd give some more time to switch from one line to another.

srakowski says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:17am

Really cool, essentially a 1 button game but I see what you did there. Very well done!

euske says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:56am

It was enjoyable, but I didn't see much connection to the theme. The music was nice.

Tommislav says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Nice.
I only ever used one button, so you had one to spare =)

Skywilly says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:53am

3447 ! Love the idea. Congratulations !

Clabbage says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:27am

It would have added a lot to the feel of the game if the controls were a bit tighter. As it is, the controls feel difficult to the point of being unfair. Nonetheless it's a cool concept, and besides the simplistic art style, that's the only fault I can find.

knason says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:35pm

2288! Nice!

Tortoise says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Nice, simple game, easy to get a hang of as I continued playing, graphics could be improved though

pjimmy says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 10:40am

Thanks for all your feedback :)

I'm making some domain changes and updates, so the webplayer and my web link will be down for a while. You can play on Gamejolt and itch.io instead. Sorry for the inconvenience.

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 12:23am

Very original! I could definitely see this continued, it's a very cool concept. Well done! c:

Xanjos says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:47pm

Pretty fun and addictive concept although the timing to enter wormholes and borders feels very strict because of how fast the spaceship is moving.

Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:43pm

Smart and simple!

Zanzlanz says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:36am

I really love the creativity here! Simple, but fun timing game!
I'd argue it's a one-button game, but hey I see you're point, and it does take quite a bit of skill to make a full game with one button, haha. So, awesome job ;)

GetDoSed says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:01pm

Not bad at all! It does take a long time to get hard though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]