Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Token Wars

by wilthord - Compo Entry

Token Wars is an strategy game, in which you can change the job of every token, to make your army grow, level up and defeat your enemy. You control your army with the mouse, Left Click for selecting the Tokens and Right Click for change its jobs. The tokens can only move one space per click.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#229Innovation3.58
#352Overall3.39
#380Fun3.29
#796Theme3.26
#868Graphics2.10

Comments

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:19am

The graphics are pretty mediocre, but the gameplay is awesome! I loved it.

paraboxx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:23am

Very cool strategy game. I noticed much too late that the enemy is spamming spawners while I was feeling secure with my wall of shooters. Well Done!

ORECROS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:28am

The graphics aren't good, of course, but it's a tile based game, what would be the point if they were? The game itself is good, in theory. The abilities charge too fast for me to micromanage better than the computer. the only way I won is by switching the first block to a sword and rushing the computer before they created their first unit.

IanGraven says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:44am

I loved The gameplay!

barret907k says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:49am

Hard to micro manage at this speed. Difficult to take over AI.

scottrick says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:51am

Actually a pretty interesting strategy game. nice work especially for only 48 hr :D

Firellon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:51am

WFinished this game in a first run. Opponent don't mind to defend his own spawners =( So 1 sword can just come and kill when other units defend your own spawners from attscks. Also, don't get any idea why player would move spawners, as this action effectively delays unit production without any real benefit.

JeffCODEblum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:52am

Pretty complex for a 2 day game. It would be pretty cool with graphics added.

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:54am

fun times.

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:54am

Nice concept !

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:00am

Love strategy.
Not at once has understood, but then played 3 times.

candlesan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:36am

Some interesting ideas in here. Movement resetting the action timer seems cool. Defnitely has a big growth element. It seems there's a strong snowball factor though where whoever gets a small advantage can snowball the fight in their favor without trying very hard.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:54am

very neat strategy game. Definitely escalates quickly lol. Great work!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:55am

Because the AI instantly makes its choices, it is really hard to counter. Ah well, love the concept!

Logicon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:59am

Very neat concept. I'd almost want to see what this would be like as a multiplayer game

shanton says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:53am

Cool idea, had fun playing it

VideoDog says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:03am

I really liked this game. With better controls and multiplayer this could really be fun!

ondrejbalas says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:35am

The concept of the game is pretty fun. Just a bit click-heavy and tough to control once you get more than a few units.

Aree Vanier says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Really fun and challenging

trozen says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Deceptively deep in terms of it's tactics!

knason says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:21pm

yay! fun game, hard to overcome the AI but fun! good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]