Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Eva Ness goes to Hell

by GeeItSomeLaldy - Compo Entry

Eva Ness descends into the bowels of hell as an Angel of Vengeance, in order to destroy a group of demons and save her own soul.

I went for both of the themes "Growing" and "Two button controls" because I think I hate myself :P

Controlled entirely with the mouse you use Mouse 1 to hop or fly (when you've grown wings - haha! see what I did there?) and Mouse 2 to fire your Heavenly Automatic Pistol.

Lets get this straight right here: The control system is AWFUL. I am very tired. I made a platforming game where you have near zero precision control. All I can say is I did my best. Enjoy. Or not.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#228Mood3.36
#263Audio3.11
#275Humor2.82
#311Fun3.38
#399Overall3.34
#407Innovation3.26
#498Graphics3.06
#506Theme3.70

Comments

Saymon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Epic game, weird but funny controls .

SecularBaron says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Fun game. The control system was a little odd like you said. But it was also different so that maybe made it better.

teamross says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Like you said the controls are weird, but overall fun game.
Good job!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:30pm

cool game! well done

fistmaker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Good entry, good use of the controls, jumping was hard to get used to.

mlepage says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Nice, I finished it, nice ending!

Do not assume everyone has a mouse. I found it very difficult to play on an OS X laptop. I do not have two mouse buttons. You should provide alternate key buttons, so I can use trackpad with those keys.

I found the aiming to be off. Like if I had the mouse straight up and jumped, it jumped left.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Why am I shooting at giant flesh-eating ding-dongs? Did I wake up in Saints Row again?

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:06pm

it seems like mouse aim is off a little bit, am I correct?

RhythmLynx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Took a while to get the hang of the controls but it was alright after that. Audio is pretty good and I like art ;)
Boss fight and cutscene at the end were cool too. Good job!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Definitely didn't expect this game to grab me the way it did. Once you figure out the movement, this game gets super fun. Jumping on one of those worm's things backs and blowing it's head off is one of the most satisfying experiences I've had so far in LD34 lol. Great work!

laFunk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Super epic! Nice level design, the boss fight is amazing -maybe too hard-. Great job!

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:34pm

really fun game, i finish it, and i'm not sure in the end if eva really got apparent death or just dreaming :p

Charzendat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:48pm

There are so many things wrong with this game, but I think thats why I love it.

bradur says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Interesting game... The controls are very hard and the graphics are a bit on the rough side, but it's a game alright. I liked the atmosphere :).

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:28am

Nice game. The controls are a bit hard to master. Almost got stuck at the two platforms

peterthehe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:44pm

A wonderful, yet terribly disturbing mood. Great game!

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Hi, i really liked this game and actually liked the controls and overall would be nice to see this taken on further as a bigger game :)

Well Done!!

adaFish says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:07pm

This was fun. The controls were a bit hard to get the hang of, but jump-floating insane distances to blow the head off of a giant hellworm while dressed like Wendy from Peter Pan made me feel like kind of a bad ass.

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Very fun once I figured out it doesn't work on a trackpad. but I got to what I think was just about the end of it when it restarted all of a sudden. I'll have to come back to it later to finish for sure.

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Controls are kinda wonky, but you said this game was bad. REAL bad. Like, in your post or whatever. And I actually kinda liked it. Good work.

brainstorm says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Hey, don't be so harsh with yourself. It's a great game for a Compo. And it would be also for a Jam. I'd seen a lot of worse games. It lacks a bit in graphics and in sounds, and the final boss is maybe too easier. But otherwise that's a really solid entry.

4/5

FROGANUS says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:51pm

the game is RAD. fav part: the big veiny grey dicks. original music? really brought it together.

The Vall says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:52pm

I felt the bullets were a little off target in terms of the mouse pointer, this made it annoying to shoot while jumping. Nice audio and art, overall a solid entry.

intXparts says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:29am

Really fun game! I like the craziness to the character's hair. Controls were actually great for having only two buttons in a platformer. The other platformers with two buttons I've played felt much more restricted during movement in comparison, so excellent work!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Interesting game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/l1a-s63Ve1s

ruerob says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:01am

Really great game! The gameplay is fun, the graphics are fitting to the game, the audio is awesome and I reached the end! I really enjoyed playing! Thank you for this entry!

Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:38am

Interesting game especially with the control mechanic idea, although it was pretty difficult being precise as you mentioned.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]