Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Agglomatron

by quadtree - Compo Entry

Note: For best results with the HTML5 version, please use Firefox Nightly 64-bit, which supports asm.js.

You are a salvage robot. You have been sent by your corporate overlords to the mysterious Dust Nebula in search of salvage. Unfortunately, it looks like all the salvage is tied up in rival salvage bots. Easily fixed...

The goal of this game is to destroy other salvage bots and add their pieces to yourself to grow larger. Use the WASD keys or the arrow keys to move, the mouse to aim and left click to fire. The mouse wheel or the 1/2 keys zoom in and out. Fly into loose salvage to install it.

Part types:
Silver.......................Armor
Red/Cyan.....................Weapons
Purple.......................Command center
Yellow.......................Reactor, brighter glow means more power stored
Dark gray with cyan flames...Engine/thruster

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#278Overall3.50
#314Innovation3.42
#339Graphics3.36
#376Mood3.11
#536Fun3.08
#543Audio2.50
#642Theme3.54
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

Graydom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:01am

Overall I really liked, but here are a few things that kind of stuck out.
I am not sure if I played to far enough into it, but it would have really helped if the enemies scaled. Maybe I didn't play enough and it actually does, but it eventually just became my ship is bigger than yours so I win the chicken fight.

I really liked the aesthetic style though, it was very atmospheric.

chr15m says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:56am

wow this is intense! great html5 implementation!

sanojian says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:36am

What a great idea. I love trying to pilot a heavily wounded ship that doesn't steer straight. Very well done. My only criticism is that it is a bit too hard to attach floating pieces onto your ship. They usually just bounce away.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:49am

that was a lot of fun - like the idea of ship pieces - great work

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Very good concept! The ship had the right feel to it, really heavy.
The only downside is that it is hard to attach the loose parts, most of the time I just dragged them with me.
Well done!

epicTCK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Controls are a little slow... and then the game crashed with some DOM error, sorry, the error did not stay up long enough for me to copy it

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:26am

The ship felt a little weird to control, but overall it was a nice game with a neat mechanic. Good job!

esayitch says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:03am

Pretty awesome use of the theme, reminded me a lot of Captain Forever :)

SFX were really good, but the game could have used some background music as well IMO. All in all pretty fun and a cool entry, good luck!

mahalis says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 5:23am

Interesting! I love the way your body is actually built out of the stuff you collect, and that disabling enemies involves shooting out their... well, important bits. The physics are kind of wonky, but it feels like there's a lot of potential here - I'd love to see this idea taken further.

simon.parzer says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:59am

This is awesome, albeit quite hard. I'd like the idea of this driven further

Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:26pm

Haha, this is extremely similar to our game!
Crashes quite quickly for me though...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]